StudentsReview - Boston College - Life at Boston Copyright 2019 StudentsReview, Ecliptical Technologies, Inc. http://www.studentsreview.com/MA/BC_comments.html Life at Boston - Comments en StudentsReview: Negative Review about Boston for Nursinghttp://www.studentsreview.com/MA/BC_comments.html Boston College is simply a school that one should go to if you are white. Racist incidents occur at least once a semester where a white student vandalizes some kind of school property to either aliena... Tue, 01 Jan 2019 01:25:24 GMT StudentsReview 564-184130 564-184130 564 30 Nursing Male Undergraduate Class 1920 3rd Year Negative Boston College is simply a school that one should go to if you are white. Racist incidents occur at least once a semester where a white student vandalizes some kind of school property to either alienate minorities or people of the LGBTQ community. Super ironic with how their policy is "Men and Women for others" when BC administration clearly reflects that. I have warned you colored students, do not go here. Tue, 01 Jan 2019 01:25:24 GMT http://www.studentsreview.com/MA/BC_comments.html StudentsReview: Negative Review about Boston for Political Sciencehttp://www.studentsreview.com/MA/BC_comments.html Boston College is parochial in the worst sense of the word. They claim to be "Men and Women for Others" but the college doesn't do anything to promote those values other than state it. Study abroad ... Tue, 13 Sep 2016 07:28:27 GMT StudentsReview 564-175620 564-175620 564 58 Political Science Female Undergraduate Class 2017 4th Year Negative Boston College is parochial in the worst sense of the word. They claim to be "Men and Women for Others" but the college doesn't do anything to promote those values other than state it. Study abroad is difficult rather than encouraged. Students who want to pursue internships are punished rather than encouraged. Rather than getting credit for my internship, I am being forced to attend another semester despite having enough credits to graduate. Tue, 13 Sep 2016 07:28:27 GMT http://www.studentsreview.com/MA/BC_comments.html StudentsReview: Neutral Review about Boston for History/Histories (art history/etc.)http://www.studentsreview.com/MA/BC_comments.html I post this as a neutral comment because, as with most schools, there are good and bad things about BC. I'll start with the good. My favorite thing about BC is my department. I am a history major a... Thu, 10 Dec 2015 02:06:39 GMT StudentsReview 564-171999 564-171999 564 41 History/Histories (art history/etc.) Male Undergraduate Class 2018 1st Year Neutral I post this as a neutral comment because, as with most schools, there are good and bad things about BC.

I'll start with the good. My favorite thing about BC is my department. I am a history major and I absolutely love it. The professors are all wonderful, the course selection is great and I am actively excited about doing the work and going to class. Yes, it is lots of work but when it's interesting and stuff you love learning about that makes it ok. Also there are many great clubs and extracurricular activities to do here. I am involved with many clubs as well as intramural sports and I have made great friends.

Ok now for the not so good stuff. BC can be very closed minded. I grew up in a very very very small rural place. People used words like "gay" and "retard" to talk about one another everyday. I figured when I went to college I would no longer hear these things as people at college are educated and less sheltered. They understand that using these types of derogatory terms is just wrong. However I have come to realize that while I am from a sheltered rural area, the kids that attend this school are a whole other kind of sheltered. I am from a very blue collar background (my mother is a school teacher, my father is a paper mill worker) and people like myself are definitely the minority at this school. People go out here on Tuesday, Wednesday, and Thursday nights to bars and their parents usually are footing the bills. "C's get degrees" is something I commonly hear.

With all of this in mind it can be kind of hard to fit in here, I know it was for me last year as a freshman. However, if you surround yourself with people you like and academic subjects you love it is not bad at all. I also got into Notre Dame and Georgetown but I picked BC over both of them. I think that no matter which of those schools I went to I believe I would feel this same way.

BC does have its problem so you definitely should not listen to the very strong voices of the idealists who describe BC as some incredibly perfect, shinning star of an institution. It isn't and those people are so far removed from the reality of the world they live in it's actually a little scary sometimes. However, people that tell you this is the most awful place in the world aren't entirely correct either. Contrary to some of the reviews not every BC student is a rich, white, catholic, preppy jock. The only one of those identifiers I share is being white. I am certainly not rich or preppy or catholic and I have been able to find niche here.
Thu, 10 Dec 2015 02:06:39 GMT http://www.studentsreview.com/MA/BC_comments.html
StudentsReview: Positive Review about Boston for Political Sciencehttp://www.studentsreview.com/MA/BC_comments.html Boston College was my number one choice and I could not have been more pleased. The academics are solid, it is easy to build relationships with faculty and the students are friendly. The surrounding c... Tue, 07 Apr 2015 04:20:21 GMT StudentsReview 564-159252 564-159252 564 58 Political Science Male Undergraduate Class 2017 2nd Year Positive Boston College was my number one choice and I could not have been more pleased. The academics are solid, it is easy to build relationships with faculty and the students are friendly. The surrounding city is amazing with tons to do. For not having greek life the party scene at BC is solid. There is something to do every weekend. Freshman year scene sucks only if you make it that way. Join clubs and those clubs will throw parties that you can go to. BC republicans threw some bangers last year. D1 sports are huge. You'll love it. understand that BC is an expensive catholic private school in the northeast so the student body consists highly of wealthy catholic school kids from the northeast. I am an army kid from alabama but kids here dont really care too much. Tue, 07 Apr 2015 04:20:21 GMT http://www.studentsreview.com/MA/BC_comments.html StudentsReview: Positive Review about Boston for Political Sciencehttp://www.studentsreview.com/MA/BC_comments.html I have read some of the complaints about BC and I have to say that most of them are ridiculous. As a sophomore at BC I love it here. I would rather be here then anywhere else and most people on campus... Fri, 10 Oct 2014 11:49:41 GMT StudentsReview 564-141909 564-141909 564 58 Political Science Male Undergraduate Class 2017 1st Year Positive I have read some of the complaints about BC and I have to say that most of them are ridiculous. As a sophomore at BC I love it here. I would rather be here then anywhere else and most people on campus who I ask seem to agree. Fri, 10 Oct 2014 11:49:41 GMT http://www.studentsreview.com/MA/BC_comments.html