StudentsReview - Brandeis University - Life at Brandeis Copyright 2017 StudentsReview, Ecliptical Technologies, Inc. http://www.studentsreview.com/MA/BRU_comments.html Life at Brandeis - Comments en StudentsReview: Negative Review about Brandeis for Psychologyhttp://www.studentsreview.com/MA/BRU_comments.html Brandeis University is a place that has brilliant professors. Unfortunately, that is the only good thing about it. The housing is really bad.. and I don't know how to stress this enough. DCL doesn't c... Wed, 31 May 2017 03:07:18 GMT StudentsReview 567-180040 567-180040 567 38 Psychology Female Undergraduate Class 2019 2nd Year Negative Brandeis University is a place that has brilliant professors. Unfortunately, that is the only good thing about it. The housing is really bad.. and I don't know how to stress this enough. DCL doesn't care about the students at all, and is overstaffed and overpriced. The only thing worse than the administration is the food. You have to pay thousands of dollars for a meal plan with limited options and only 3 meal swipes a day at fixed timings. The meal plan is compulsory and highly frustrating. It makes things very difficult for students, especially those with dietary restrictions. Also, the timings of the dining places open are often wrong online to make it look like they are open for longer than they are. I've found insects in my food three times, and gone to bed hungry more times than I can count because I can't use one meal swipe at 5 pm and another at 10pm. Sodexo does not answer inquiry emails because no one on this campus cares about the students. Honestly, it would be okay if the housing and food was bad but the cost was extremely low. But you're paying the exact same amount, or even slightly more than people pay to live in the middle of New York City (NYU housing) to live in the middle of nowhere with rundown buildings and rude staff. And you could order a kick ass takeout by paying the exact same amount for the terrible food they serve in the dining halls. Where the hell is my money going??? Not to improve the resources on campus, that's for sure. The housing is terrible, the food is bad, the administration is rude and unresponsive, the extra- curricular activities are limited, there's a shortage of study space during every midterm season ever, there's generally nothing fun to do on the weekends, and no one seems to care about you. This semester, they shut down the convenience store early during FINALS WEEK. Lol. The tours really delude you. So unless you're on full scholarship, my advice would be- don't go to Brandeis. And don't listen to the tour guides because they're reading from a script that doesn't exist. Instead, go to community college and go to an even better place for your post grad. I really wish I had. Wed, 31 May 2017 03:07:18 GMT http://www.studentsreview.com/MA/BRU_comments.html StudentsReview: Positive Review about Brandeis for Music - Composition/Theoryhttp://www.studentsreview.com/MA/BRU_comments.html I have to make this short because of time: Brandies is a great institution. Excellent academics and student to teacher ratio... Brilliant, engaging, challenging, and caring professors. Great music/... Sun, 05 Jun 2016 10:27:02 GMT StudentsReview 567-173811 567-173811 567 25 Music - Composition/Theory Male Undergraduate Alumnus Class 2000 Positive I have to make this short because of time:
Brandies is a great institution. Excellent academics and student to teacher ratio... Brilliant, engaging, challenging, and caring professors. Great music/arts environment. Boston is a fine city and has some of the best musical venues and Arts scenes. (Great food too!). The 'T' metro subway system is good. It is not as large as New York City's..but it is clean and safe, and it is say to get around. I still miss taking the Red line home and, at that part of the track route, it was above ground, an you could see a fantastic view of the Charles river and the city.
I'm currently a professor at the research I university. Brandies was a great experience! But it take A LOT of work, so be ready.
Sun, 05 Jun 2016 10:27:02 GMT http://www.studentsreview.com/MA/BRU_comments.html
StudentsReview: Advice Review about Brandeis for Physicshttp://www.studentsreview.com/MA/BRU_comments.html Brandeis is a fine school academically. This is underappreciated by a lot of people on the outside. Students go to the top graduate schools in all fields, and in general are pretty smart to brillian... Mon, 18 Apr 2016 10:07:32 GMT StudentsReview 567-173327 567-173327 567 33 Physics Male Undergraduate Alumnus Class 2000 Advice Brandeis is a fine school academically. This is underappreciated by a lot of people on the outside. Students go to the top graduate schools in all fields, and in general are pretty smart to brilliant. There are some boneheads there, however. They really stand out in class. Don't know why they get in, but I would guess money. I conducted an alumni interview with one of the dumbest people I had ever met, and I wrote in all the details of the horrific interview and she got in. I later learned her family had a lot of money. That same year I interviewed a young lady who was very, very bright, interesting, engaging, etc. They rejected her! It was Brandeis' HUGE loss because she ended up at Stanford! Good for her. I would hate for her to be in class with the idiot that got in.

Having said this, if one is not Jewish, it will not be a friendly environment. Essentially, there is the Jewish community and everyone else. It runs about 65/35 Jewish/gentile. This can make life very difficult in the classroom. For instance, I took complex variables with a small group. About ten or so. Well, 7 or 8 students were Jewish, and they gathered before and after class to discuss homework, test preparation, etc. I felt invisible. I don't think the students recognized me around campus. I would greet them and they would either not respond or look at me as if I were crazy. I honestly believe that some of them simply did not realize I was in class with them. I had to work the problem sets alone. So I was at a serious disadvantage.

The liberalism that is claimed is not extant. Those who thought of themselves as open minded, etc. I found to be condescending, xenophobic and racist. They just smiled alot and said "What up, bro!". But don't try to socialize with them. The pain will come quickly and in big doses. I will never forget a dining hall conversation. This Jewish guy who thought of himself as a really lefty from San Francisco asked this black kid with a rather large Afro hair style where he bought his hair. After a lot of wrangling, the Jewish guy finally asserted that he asked because black people cannot grow hair longer than an inch. I was flabbergasted. But this is what you get from the lefties at Brandeis, so imagine what the conservative Jews are like.

If you are Jewish, it is a great place to study. The academics are superb, and the professors will send you to the best graduate schools in the world. If you are not Jewish, be prepared for a long, enervating, disorienting experience that tests your ability to spend an entire day in class and not have a single student say anything to you. Be prepared for invisibility. If you can handle that, you will survive, and maybe even get good grades if you don't take classes with professors who do not believe that you do good work, or that it isn't yours if it is good.
Mon, 18 Apr 2016 10:07:32 GMT http://www.studentsreview.com/MA/BRU_comments.html
StudentsReview: Neutral Review about Brandeis for Linguisticshttp://www.studentsreview.com/MA/BRU_comments.html First impressions of Brandeis University as a social environment in which to spend four years of your life and over a hundred thousand of your dollars may be that it is a warm, open-minded and fun pla... Fri, 04 Mar 2016 07:57:43 GMT StudentsReview 567-172941 567-172941 567 68 Linguistics Male Undergraduate Class 2018 2nd Year Neutral First impressions of Brandeis University as a social environment in which to spend four years of your life and over a hundred thousand of your dollars may be that it is a warm, open-minded and fun place to be. As I've experienced it, if you're not the type of person who easily makes friends right off the bat in any social situation, you're not going to do well, at least in the beginning. Cliques form in a second, and tend to be quite exclusive. It's very hard to make friends after cliques form at the beginning of your time. It's especially hard if you're not a well-off, connected student in one of the popular majors (neuroscience, biochemistry or global studies, for example). Another anecdote to that end is that I'm from the midwest, and in my time here I have yet to meet a single person who's from within 200 miles of where I live. It can also be hard to make friends if you're not the type of person who goes out and parties (at any of Brandeis' really lame parties that get shut down before 1 am) every weekend. The people who you do meet are likely to be self-absorbed and won't last as your friends; they'll dump you for better friends who enjoy getting ratchet more than you or come from a more similar background as them (more often than not, it involves being Jewish to some end).

Academically speaking, you'll do very well if you're the type of person who appreciates breadth over depth in your education, enjoy immersing yourself in whatever takes your fancy one semester or another, are talented in many areas and enjoy letting academic advisors tell you what to do. Granted, there are many extremely interesting courses that I wish I could have taken in the past or could in the future; Brandeis is blessed with world-class faculty who are extremely passionate about their teaching and about enriching the students. Many faculty lead discussion-based courses, which is excellent if that's the type of course you like taking. Faculty are approachable and love working with and knowing their students, no matter how deep your interest is in their subject area. The rigour of the work is high; it comes in two stages. During your first year you're likely to take some lower-level classes, and the instructors will sometimes treat you as though you've never written a paper before, and other times they'll be flexible in terms of working with you at your level. Beyond these courses, stuff gets intense really fast. If that's what you're up for, then go for it - I personally enjoy a challenge academically, but if you want a place that you can just breeze through, it's not Brandeis - students in general here love the challenge of the coursework: it's central to the academic ethos of the school, and that's something to like a lot.

Now, Waltham is (and there's really no other way of putting it) a sh*thole. There's absolutely nothing to do and it isn't the safest place at night. Campus is very isolated as it's up on a hill and there's one road in/out (which is a HUGE drawback if you either enjoy going out or, like me, have to have a job and don't get helped by the university in finding a federal-work-study job on campus that you're qualified for - more on that later). Getting to Cambridge or Boston can be inconvenient at times. There are busses on the weekend from on campus, which sound convenient on paper, but are chronically late or canceled, and crowded. A regular bus service, the 553 stops outside campus and takes an hour to get into Boston via Newton. The commuter rail also stops right outside campus, but it's bloody expensive. Zipcar oneway is convenient from getting from doorstep to doorstep in terms of where you're going, but a car isn't always available near campus. Once you're in Boston or Cambridge, though, there's a wealth of things to do. Boston metro area also has many other universities that host events and parties.

The administration of the university is not the best. They try hard to listen to the students' needs, but in recent years have failed to effectively answer students' questions and qualms about the budget and how bloody expensive everything is, or, while still being pretty progressive compared to other universities in America, to address issues of diversity that have been brought to attention recently. (The student body is very much divided on issues of diversity; half are ignorant, rich, privileged white kids who don't understand issues facing marginalised demographics barely represented at Brandeis and in the real world, and half are socially conscious and occasionally hostile students who are very active in tackling issues of social justice - the latter half obviously includes the small percentage of students of colour and students who are from low-income backgrounds).
The resources at the university are mediocre. Academic resources like the library are really nothing special - I've gone to other universities nearby for academic material more so than gone to Brandeis' library. The health services are subpar, as well. The health centre is understaffed and not particularly friendly; the psychological counseling centre provides pretty good services, but it's almost impossible to get to them at all - speaking personally, it took me over a full semester to even book my first appointment due to being double-booked more than once.
The facilities are mixed. Dorm life is pretty crap freshman year - the buildings are outdated and the appliances are broken more often than not (I had no heat all winter and facilities services *never* came to fix it), and the dining hall food is absolute garbage (the people who prepare it are all warm-hearted, wonderful people who strive to please, but unfortunately the food they're given to prepare is awful). This is a trivial complaint, but since the school is not actually secular at all, we *never* have real bacon.

The bottom line here is that if you're looking for an academically stimulating environment in which to delve into many of your interests and learn from world-class faculty just as passionate as you, and you aren't worried at all about social life, living on a college campus, caring about the community you live in or paying for all of it, then you've found the right school. If you're even remotely worried about any of the other above attributes, look elsewhere - it isn't worth 40k a year.
Fri, 04 Mar 2016 07:57:43 GMT http://www.studentsreview.com/MA/BRU_comments.html
StudentsReview: Negative Review about Brandeis for Unknownhttp://www.studentsreview.com/MA/BRU_comments.html Don't be fooled by its "social justice" preaching. This place is run by and for a very, very tight network of Jewish lawyers and bankers who send their mediocre kids to the same private high schools (... Wed, 10 Feb 2016 12:18:59 GMT StudentsReview 567-172681 567-172681 567 0 Unknown Female Undergraduate Class 2018 4th Year Negative Don't be fooled by its "social justice" preaching. This place is run by and for a very, very tight network of Jewish lawyers and bankers who send their mediocre kids to the same private high schools (Ramaz, Gann, Birch Walthen, etc.) and colleges before they get hired by their daddy's first cousin at some firm in Downtown Big City. Everyone else going here has to compete for the tiny amount of attention and resources left over, and the campus environment can be pretty hostile and isolating if you're not part of that background (a career counselor asked me once if I thought the Chinese international students going here could ever assimilate into this country..yeah). I don't have any resentment, but stop asking me for tuition money and then treating me like I'm not wanted. Wed, 10 Feb 2016 12:18:59 GMT http://www.studentsreview.com/MA/BRU_comments.html