StudentsReview - The Massachusetts College of Art and Design - Life at MAD Copyright 2017 StudentsReview, Ecliptical Technologies, Inc. http://www.studentsreview.com/MA/MCA_comments.html Life at MAD - Comments en StudentsReview: Positive Review about MAD for Unknownhttp://www.studentsreview.com/MA/MCA_comments.html Getting into MassArt is one of the best things that has ever happened to me. I just barely got in and I am very grateful. For the size of the school and cost the community and resources are excellent.... Wed, 27 Sep 2017 07:42:27 GMT StudentsReview 583-181155 583-181155 583 0 Unknown Male Undergraduate Class 2019 2nd Year Positive Getting into MassArt is one of the best things that has ever happened to me. I just barely got in and I am very grateful. For the size of the school and cost the community and resources are excellent. From my understanding a lot of small art schools in the area that are two or three times as expensive are undoubtedly worse in terms of the resources (housing, food, studios etc). This is what I've heard from faculty that work at multiple schools and from transfer students.

You might feel like youre mucking around sometimes especially freshman year but it's up to you to make the most out of the experience. Some buildings are kind of old and in a state of disrepair but that's part of the charm. The cafeteria is nothing special. There are of course rude or clichy people here and there like any school but the overall feel is very welcoming and open. I've never been in a community that felt so friendly as I have at MassArt.
Very LGBTQ friendly but not particularly racially diverse.
Wed, 27 Sep 2017 07:42:27 GMT http://www.studentsreview.com/MA/MCA_comments.html
StudentsReview: Neutral Review about MAD for Fine Arts - Painting/Sculpture/Photography/etchttp://www.studentsreview.com/MA/MCA_comments.html MassArt is a good school and it's relatively cheap for most people in state or in New England. Of course it's not for everyone. I've heard of quite a few people dropping out, but these are all first t... Sat, 06 Aug 2016 04:09:35 GMT StudentsReview 583-174722 583-174722 583 18 Fine Arts - Painting/Sculpture/Photography/etc Male Undergraduate Class 2019 1st Year Neutral MassArt is a good school and it's relatively cheap for most people in state or in New England. Of course it's not for everyone. I've heard of quite a few people dropping out, but these are all first time students and I seriously question how they enjoy other colleges. There is a lot of work involved in your freshman year. (Studio classes are supposed to assign something like 7 hours of homework a week) This won't be a problem if you're passionate about learning.If you despise rigid academic (non-Art) classes you're in luck. You'll only have to take a few writing classes in your first two years, one sci/math credit. You'll probably end up taking Art history almost every semester at the school and this will make up the bulk of writing and reading you have to do.
Of the people who drop out most of them seem to be very uncertain of what they are doing with their lives/what direction they are going in. I would have fallen into this category but I found myself very inspired upon starting in this school.If you wouldn't consider yourself an "artsy" person I would avoid this school they are the only people that don't really fit in with the general spirit of the school which is in my opinion very open, free thinking and sensitive. It's the most LGBTQ+ positive place I've been in my entire life. All in all it's a welcoming community although the school isn't particularly racially diverse. It's an art school and even if you go in telling yourself you're going to be a graphic designer or architect or something that "makes a lot of money" theres a high probability of discovering a passion you had for something you didn't know you had. In summary:
PEOPLE: Lots of weird interesting, wonderful people, lots of 'hipsters" and lots of your stereotypical anime-cosplay-animation-illustration type of people. (no offense) if you can live with that it shouldn't be a problem.
PARTY SCENE: Available but mostly off campus, no pressure what so ever. It's not a huge part of campus culture.
CLASSES: You will have to take studio foundation which involves lots of different disciplines and thing you may or may not be interested in pursuing but you'll learn a lot either way.
LIVING: Housing not guaranteed for most upper class men most end up sharing a apartment in their junior or senior year which is expensive but if you're smart about it you can save money.
FOOD: Every one complains about the cafeteria food and it's definitely not great but its better than a lot of schools. Maybe a C+. On campus students must have a meal plan which is a set amount of money that each item you purchase deducts from and a lot of the food is very over priced so you have to be careful. Most people make it through each semester okay though.
Sat, 06 Aug 2016 04:09:35 GMT http://www.studentsreview.com/MA/MCA_comments.html
StudentsReview: Neutral Review about MAD for Art & Design Departmenthttp://www.studentsreview.com/MA/MCA_comments.html I spent a year at Massart before transferring to another school to study a different major. While I liked the it, there was a lot of things that really weren't ideal, and at the end of the day, I didn... Fri, 25 Oct 2013 05:10:05 GMT StudentsReview 583-96690 583-96690 583 60 Art & Design Department Female Undergraduate Class 2015 1st Year Neutral I spent a year at Massart before transferring to another school to study a different major. While I liked the it, there was a lot of things that really weren't ideal, and at the end of the day, I didn't want to go into debt for something that was "okay."

That being said, the good; very creative, open minded people, small classes, top facilities (for a state school especially), small school, free admission to all art musuems in boston (take advantage of this!), living in the heart of a great city, good sized dorms.

the bad; very basic cafeteria (chicken fingers get old fast), terribly organized administration, nearly impossible to take classes at other colleges, study abroad is not possible for some majors, very little social life, a bit of a commuter school (a lot of people go home for the weekends), little career preparation, and open minded people who can be close minded towards more 'mainstream' things
Fri, 25 Oct 2013 05:10:05 GMT http://www.studentsreview.com/MA/MCA_comments.html
StudentsReview: Negative Review about MAD for Otherhttp://www.studentsreview.com/MA/MCA_comments.html If you enjoy going to the Motor Vehicle Department and being treated as a sub human you will love Mass Art. The school exists primarily to take your money No one will help you, nothing is done to ma... Fri, 02 Mar 2012 07:22:30 GMT StudentsReview 583-85718 583-85718 583 53 Other Male Undergraduate Class 2000 Negative If you enjoy going to the Motor Vehicle Department and being treated as a sub human you will love Mass Art. The school exists primarily to take your money No one will help you, nothing is done to make students feel valued and they will screw you without hesitation. Fri, 02 Mar 2012 07:22:30 GMT http://www.studentsreview.com/MA/MCA_comments.html StudentsReview: Positive Review about MAD for Design Arts - Industrial Design/Graphic Design/etchttp://www.studentsreview.com/MA/MCA_comments.html Learn how to SPELL! SPELL SPELL!!! Learn as much of technology/marketing communication in your field Never stop learning, reaching for the bigger challenge Mentor to others Look for faster, bet... Mon, 28 Nov 2011 01:01:51 GMT StudentsReview 583-83219 583-83219 583 14 Design Arts - Industrial Design/Graphic Design/etc Male Undergraduate Alumnus Class 2000 Positive Learn how to SPELL! SPELL SPELL!!!
Learn as much of technology/marketing communication in your field
Never stop learning, reaching for the bigger challenge
Mentor to others
Look for faster, better, cheaper ways to do a job.
EXPERIMENT
Learn to communicate/present your ideas to bosses/sales/clients
Mon, 28 Nov 2011 01:01:51 GMT http://www.studentsreview.com/MA/MCA_comments.html