StudentsReview - The Massachusetts Institute of Technology - Life at MIT Copyright 2017 StudentsReview, Ecliptical Technologies, Inc. http://www.studentsreview.com/MA/MIT_comments.html Life at MIT - Comments en StudentsReview: Advice Review about MIT for Biologyhttp://www.studentsreview.com/MA/MIT_comments.html MIT was a great experience, but in retrospect, I could have gone to a state school and paid a fraction of the tuition for an experience of similar quality. Any large state school has all the same ... Wed, 23 Dec 2015 08:32:45 GMT StudentsReview 585-172179 585-172179 585 6 Biology Male Undergraduate Class 2015 4th Year Advice MIT was a great experience, but in retrospect, I could have gone to a state school and paid a fraction of the tuition for an experience of similar quality.

Any large state school has all the same resources as MIT; the difference is that MIT FORCES their undergrads to take a heavy, challenging academic load. At a state school, you make your own experience- as easy or as difficult as you desire.

Thus, if you're a truly self-motivated student who will seek out challenging graduate-level classes and independent research opportunities, a large state school is MUCH better value.
Wed, 23 Dec 2015 08:32:45 GMT http://www.studentsreview.com/MA/MIT_comments.html
StudentsReview: Neutral Review about MIT for Mechanical Engineeringhttp://www.studentsreview.com/MA/MIT_comments.html It's definitely a lot of work, but the experience is worth it.... Sun, 09 Jun 2013 01:25:53 GMT StudentsReview 585-94290 585-94290 585 24 Mechanical Engineering Female Undergraduate Class 2016 1st Year Neutral It's definitely a lot of work, but the experience is worth it. Sun, 09 Jun 2013 01:25:53 GMT http://www.studentsreview.com/MA/MIT_comments.html StudentsReview: Positive Review about MIT for Physicshttp://www.studentsreview.com/MA/MIT_comments.html I am currently a double major in physics and EECS about to graduate, so my experience has to be broken down by majors. Part I: the academics A) Physics: I found the physics department at MIT am... Wed, 03 Apr 2013 11:52:49 GMT StudentsReview 585-92944 585-92944 585 33 Physics Male Undergraduate Class 2013 4th Year Positive I am currently a double major in physics and EECS about to graduate, so my experience has to be broken down by majors.

Part I: the academics

A) Physics: I found the physics department at MIT amazing. We have 70-80 physics majors each year, which means you'll always find other people to pset with easily, and makes the department devote a significant effort to make the undergrad education stellar. In fact, they always try to have the best lecturers (Allan Adams, Alan Guth etc...) in the undergrad class. The major is really well thought out, especially their quantum sequence. If you are planning to go to grad school, makes sure to take their WHOLE quantum sequence (8.04, 8.05, 8.06). They are life-changing classes. The problem sets have consistently been enlightening, mind-opening and challenging but not impossible (ok, some of the grad psets i got might have been on the verge of impossible). You will notice the smartest physics/math majors are also the most humble: this is one of the traits i liked best about MIT. In this pressure-cooker and purist environment, arrogance has no place.

EECS: Because the department is so large, the classes definitely will feel impersonal, until you hit your grad-level classes. In general, i thought the intro classes well thought out, however i found significant complaints. This is because people come in with such a wide background (not knowing how to script "hello world" to having implemented as OS), that the experience depends highly on your starting level. The gist of the education in EECS, however is the labs. I learnt much less from doing problem sets, or studying for finals (you still have to do that). THe problem sets are less interesting and challenging, however the labs/projects will chew your soul, swallow it, digest it and regurgitate it. Some of the grad-level projects are extremely time-consuming, but the feeling of satisfaction at the end will be proportional to the amount of frustration you felt while doing them. If you are a hands-on person, the EECS department would definitely be a good fit. I have mixed feelings about my education in this department, but overall, I will have to admit that studying EECS drastically the way I think about designing complex, real-world systems for the better. Sometimes, i felt it was busy-work and overwhelming, but in the end, going through the the crap-work was necessary for my personal development. Furthermore, the job opportunities for EECS at MIT are limitless. I get spammed by internship offers from all kinds of places, and I don't even make particular efforts to get recruited.

Other students: I find it nice at MIT that students are a lot less likely to judge you. You will find your typical jock, your cheerleader, but what is nice is they all mingle
because in the end, you are judged by your academics. And you can be the most popular guy in high school, it doesn't matter when you come here if you are stuck on a differential equation. The students are extremely varied, probably moreso at MIT than at any other college campuses.
There's definitely a minority (~3%) that might have some type of social problem, and lock themselves up doing work. But the vast majority are humble, smart and engaging. There's also a large culture of collaboration, of "we are in this shit together", of us vs. MIT.

Research: The research opportunities are are definitely what you make of it. I know people who put in more time into their research than their classes, and others who slack off and get nothing done. But all of them had an easy time finding a group to work with. Make sure you have the maturity to monitor yourself before you ask for a research position. The problem is not that the professor will refuse, it is that he will give you so much freedom you might end up accomplishing nothing at all. I personally prefer doing UROP's during the summer, since I'm so busy during the semester research is just not an option.


Sports: What is nice about sports is that while being at the lower end level (div III type), it makes it much easier for the typical undergrad to participate. Something like 20% of MIT students do varsity sports. There are a lot of pick-up games of soccer, frisbee etc.. on Briggs field, especially during the spring/summer, so you will not get bored.

Food: dining is good but really expensive because it is Cambridge. I personally cook for myself, and there are plenty of places on campus for quick snacks. This are could be improved though.
Wed, 03 Apr 2013 11:52:49 GMT http://www.studentsreview.com/MA/MIT_comments.html
StudentsReview: Positive Review about MIT for Physicshttp://www.studentsreview.com/MA/MIT_comments.html An application to MIT should /gush/ with your enthusiasm for what you love. One of my friends got in with an essay on her sock collection. If the admissions officer is grinning while reading yours, yo... Mon, 22 Oct 2012 05:29:18 GMT StudentsReview 585-89986 585-89986 585 33 Physics Male Undergraduate Class 2015 1st Year Positive An application to MIT should /gush/ with your enthusiasm for what you love. One of my friends got in with an essay on her sock collection. If the admissions officer is grinning while reading yours, you're doing it right. Mon, 22 Oct 2012 05:29:18 GMT http://www.studentsreview.com/MA/MIT_comments.html StudentsReview: Positive Review about MIT for Physicshttp://www.studentsreview.com/MA/MIT_comments.html MIT provides amazing opportunities if you're the type to take advantage of them. First semester can be tough, as many brilliant students have to learn how to study for the first time once they're in ... Sat, 11 Aug 2012 02:45:49 GMT StudentsReview 585-88820 585-88820 585 33 Physics Male Undergraduate Alumnus Class 2000 Positive MIT provides amazing opportunities if you're the type to take advantage of them. First semester can be tough, as many brilliant students have to learn how to study for the first time once they're in a class of nearly all brilliant students and a professor who expects that. It's definitely not meant for everybody, but for the highly intelligent and hard working, it can't be beat. Sat, 11 Aug 2012 02:45:49 GMT http://www.studentsreview.com/MA/MIT_comments.html