StudentsReview - Northeastern University - Life at Northeastern Copyright 2017 StudentsReview, Ecliptical Technologies, Inc. http://www.studentsreview.com/MA/NU_comments.html Life at Northeastern - Comments en StudentsReview: Negative Review about Northeastern for Economicshttp://www.studentsreview.com/MA/NU_comments.html While Northeastern University (NEU) has many majors to choose from, from my experience it seems to be structured more towards STEM majors (i.e engineering, computer, biotech, etc.) All of the othe... Mon, 08 May 2017 02:26:43 GMT StudentsReview 592-179757 592-179757 592 57 Economics Female Undergraduate Class 1920 4th Year Negative While Northeastern University (NEU) has many majors to choose from, from my experience it seems to be structured more towards STEM majors (i.e engineering, computer, biotech, etc.)

All of the other departments seem to be lacking in enough faculty to support the inflow of students that apply there every year. There is also insufficient course subjects in any major that is not a STEM. You find yourself wasting money ($5xxx a course) taking courses that you do not like...just because you need to fulfill your major requirements.

Also, it's important to know that if you declare a minor, it will not be written on your diploma. Only your major will be written. Hopefully, if you are reading this, you won't make the same mistake of wasting your money and time on getting a minor. It only shows on your transcript and not your diploma. That kind of defeats the purpose of getting a minor.

Honestly, if you can get into Tufts, Harvard, MIT...it would be better, plus they cost exactly the same...
Mon, 08 May 2017 02:26:43 GMT http://www.studentsreview.com/MA/NU_comments.html
StudentsReview: Positive Review about Northeastern for Economicshttp://www.studentsreview.com/MA/NU_comments.html Amazing job preparation. Likely the best in the nation even compared to schools with much, much better reputations like BC and Harvard. This was a safety school for me, but I got a fantastic educa... Tue, 20 Dec 2016 03:01:57 GMT StudentsReview 592-177552 592-177552 592 57 Economics Female Undergraduate Class 2017 5th Year Positive Amazing job preparation. Likely the best in the nation even compared to schools with much, much better reputations like BC and Harvard.

This was a safety school for me, but I got a fantastic education and landed a top job easily. My resume after leaving NEU was better than most people's rez after 3 years of work experience. I was hired at an above entry level position before graduation with a huge salary.

The students are from very different backgrounds. The asians choose to segregate themselves in all possible ways and often pretend to not speak english when they are fluent to avoid taking to people who are not asian. This was the most unusual aspect of the social atmosphere; international students who do not want to mix with in-state kids, and are openly hostile without any reason. I have a mixed racial friend group, plenty of different backgrounds represented.

The fraternities and sororities are a joke and they all take themselves too seriously. People think their frats with no physical house are real fraternities which is pathetic. These kids have never been to the south. Watching someone act arrogant over their pathetic club that lets anyone join makes me laugh.

I wish some of the professors were a little nicer. The requirements to get some degrees are actually impossible to achieve without taking summer classes due to the overlapping prereqs and the limits on taking classes. Overall, this is a much smaller problem for us than it is for other people.

There are plenty of on-campus jobs for kids that are decent enough.

The parties are not great, RA's are overbearing, but I didn't come here for that.

We have all the resources of a top research university, like 3D printers and such.

My advisers know me and worked together well.

This school is what almost all schools strive to be or pretend to be, but NEU is the real deal if you can afford it.
Tue, 20 Dec 2016 03:01:57 GMT http://www.studentsreview.com/MA/NU_comments.html
StudentsReview: Positive Review about Northeastern for Biologyhttp://www.studentsreview.com/MA/NU_comments.html It wasn't even on my list of schools when I was applying back in high school, but I'm so glad I decided on coming here. The co-op program is very unique, and I like that everyone is so passionate abou... Thu, 31 Mar 2016 10:09:03 GMT StudentsReview 592-173165 592-173165 592 6 Biology Female Undergraduate Class 2018 2nd Year Positive It wasn't even on my list of schools when I was applying back in high school, but I'm so glad I decided on coming here. The co-op program is very unique, and I like that everyone is so passionate about what they do. It seems like everyone here has a distinct goal and is visionary in a way I have never seen peers at other schools behave. I would not recommend this as a place to "find yourself" or take random classes haphazardly, because it seems like people here all have a strong sense of purpose. I love the drive and ambition here! Thu, 31 Mar 2016 10:09:03 GMT http://www.studentsreview.com/MA/NU_comments.html StudentsReview: Positive Review about Northeastern for Economicshttp://www.studentsreview.com/MA/NU_comments.html Northeastern University is a great school! With respect to the Economics department, the school offers a great program with highly distinguished professors.... Fri, 11 Mar 2016 08:42:53 GMT StudentsReview 592-172993 592-172993 592 57 Economics Male Undergraduate Class 2018 2nd Year Positive Northeastern University is a great school! With respect to the Economics department, the school offers a great program with highly distinguished professors. Fri, 11 Mar 2016 08:42:53 GMT http://www.studentsreview.com/MA/NU_comments.html StudentsReview: Neutral Review about Northeastern for Economicshttp://www.studentsreview.com/MA/NU_comments.html Northeastern University, and especially the economics department is an exceptional and outstanding academic institution that provides students with the resources and tools necessary to succeed in life... Sun, 24 May 2015 01:05:40 GMT StudentsReview 592-161815 592-161815 592 57 Economics Male Undergraduate Class 2015 4th Year Neutral Northeastern University, and especially the economics department is an exceptional and outstanding academic institution that provides students with the resources and tools necessary to succeed in life. Sun, 24 May 2015 01:05:40 GMT http://www.studentsreview.com/MA/NU_comments.html