StudentsReview - Bard College Simon's Rock - Life at BCSR Copyright 2017 StudentsReview, Ecliptical Technologies, Inc. http://www.studentsreview.com/MA/SRC_comments.html Life at BCSR - Comments en StudentsReview: Advice Review about BCSR for Engineering Departmenthttp://www.studentsreview.com/MA/SRC_comments.html First off, Simon's Rock is a school full of passionate and driven students. So, let's start with Writing and Thinking workshop. It will be one of the most challenging weeks of your entire stay at Si... Mon, 24 Jul 2017 08:38:16 GMT StudentsReview 598-180608 598-180608 598 61 Engineering Department Male Undergraduate Class 2017 1st Year Advice First off, Simon's Rock is a school full of passionate and driven students.
So, let's start with Writing and Thinking workshop. It will be one of the most challenging weeks of your entire stay at Simon's Rock, both emotionally and academically. You'll have two types of students, the ones who finish their work dead early, or the ones who sit in the lounge all night until 3 writing an essay for the next day. Groups start almost immediately and it will feel like summer camp. Most groups are formed with 1) Workshop groups and 2) Roommates. In fact, most of the groups that are together for the first semester are from the same writing and thinking workshop. After the week is over, everything will start to seem fine, but then the rest of the Simon's Rock students will come. That's when the process of meeting new people starts again. The Dining hall with explode with the amount of people crammed in. Don't be scared though, most of the students at Simon's Rock are welcoming and friendly, just remember to be open. Like every school you do have those douchebags and snoots, but the students at Simon's Rock are really accepting. Warning for those who are not prepared or aware, this is an EXTREMELY liberal school, so if you know that you will not get along or contradict with some of the ideals of a liberal, then I would recommend not coming here. The school prides itself on being accepting and for the most part it is. The campus is fully of diversity, but there is a lot of animosity as well. If you are religious (I found this mainly for christians), you and your religion will be challenged if you are open about it. Prepare for (possibly insulting) comments in class that disregard religion. If you are wealthy or have money you will be encountered with people who aren't as well off as you. Those people will badger you about how much money that you have and they don't (even though most of the campus is EXTREMELY wealthy). If you are white, expect to be called out on a number of occasions. Bottom line: If you don't fit into to the social environment of SR, then you'll be isolated AND if you have morals or ideals that are different from SR then you should seriously reconsider coming here.

Along with the social life, there comes safety. There are a lot of minors here with no parents, so be wary of what you do and who you do it with. Drugs are big problem on campus. You will smell weed EVERYWHERE. When you walk to class, in class, in your dorms, etc. There are a lot of incidents with SR, drugs, and the hospital. So be safe kids. There will be a point in the year that at least one person will go to the ER every weekend. They're not all because of drugs, but for a school of only 400, that's a lot of ambulances. Drinking isn't that big of a problem here. Next issue: the birds and the bees. Make sure you know who's with who or else things will get messy. Don't be too impulsive either because if something does wrong, you're bound to hear or see that person the next week even if you actively try to avoid them. There are a lot of rape cases with Simon's Rock as well. Most people know about them, but everybody pretends not to.

Health services provides a lot of emotional support and counseling and the disabilities center is very understanding. Health services closes at 5 and when you need them the most, they've already gone home. They aren't open on the weekends either so don't get hurt. If you want real support though, you'll have an academic advisor who might as well be your therapist. They check on your academics and emotional health (if you get a good one). Make sure you click with your advisor and if you don't, DO NOT HESITATE to change them. It'll help you in the long run. If you find a professor that you end up loving, make sure you change your advisor fast because if they're pretty popular, other students will probably want them too.

Most students transfer after the 2 years and their AA. SR is so tiny that it doesn't have the materials or the classes that most of the students here need. The professors are amazing, but because of the few professors they have, the classes can be exclusive, the classes you need with clash with one another, or they are only offered every 2-3 years. So choose wisely. Be prepared to write a lot, even in your math classes and be prepared to be constantly put on the spot. You'll eventually have to teach a lesson in at least one of your classes and SR is big on taking initiative and deep thinking. If you miss one assignment you WILL fall behind and your grades WILL suffer. Because of the intimacy of the classes as well, if you fail to do an assignment, you will be embarrassed and people will notice that you didn't do your work. So come prepared. SERIOUSLY.

I loved Simon's Rock. I made friends that I'll keep for a lifetime and an education that prepared me for the future. The education that you get at Simon's Rock is like no other. In the moment you look at what you're doing as ridiculous (Seminar), but once you leave Simon's Rock, you'll notice how much you've grown both academically and personally. Don't come here because you only want to leave high school. Don't come here because you want to get away from your personal problems at home. The people who do it solely for those reasons don't last here. You can have a combo of these, but the main reason should be here is because you want to be challenged. I'm not degrading SR or trying to lure people away from this college. I'm just warning those who are debating whether or not to come here. If you look at my comments and decide to come. Great! But if you look at my comments and decide it's not the place for you, then look at your other options. I know people who loved Simon's Rock and I know people who hated Simon's Rock. It all depends on who you are and what you want to do. I wish you luck, whether it's at Simon's Rock or not :)
Mon, 24 Jul 2017 08:38:16 GMT http://www.studentsreview.com/MA/SRC_comments.html
StudentsReview: Positive Review about BCSR for Undecidedhttp://www.studentsreview.com/MA/SRC_comments.html Simon's Rock is a great place if you go for the right reasons. If you are looking for a strong liberal arts education and learning both in and out of the classroom, this is the place for you. You will... Fri, 09 Sep 2016 03:08:00 GMT StudentsReview 598-175518 598-175518 598 52 Undecided Female Undergraduate Class 2017 1st Year Positive Simon's Rock is a great place if you go for the right reasons. If you are looking for a strong liberal arts education and learning both in and out of the classroom, this is the place for you. You will grow so much as a person here, and become more articulate and sound in your views. You will be exposed to a diverse population with many different background experiences, and your peers will support you and inspire you. As this is a non-traditional college (ie you don't need a high school diploma to go here), you should be sure to do the research on the requirements for the transfer schools you are interested in (if you are planning on transferring after your AA). I wish
I had been given more information and guidance on transferring from here, it is not as easy as it is claimed to be on the website. As for the staff, they are wonderful, unique individuals whom you will learn a lot from, and they are also very approachable and willing to learn from you. In particular, your skills as a writer will increase during your time here (I hope you enjoy writing,) because even math classes have a large writing component. This school is especially great for those just beginning college, because the workload and skill set you acquire will prepare you for other schools. Obviously, it is a small institution, so there are not that many classes available to take, especially in upper-level topics, which is a reason to transfer after the AA. (I am currently frustrated at the lack of biology courses, specifically there is no marine biology course!) In terms of extracurriculars and night life, there is not much. Clubs tend to die out and everything in town closes quite early. However, you will not be bored, because most of your time will be dedicated to your classes. In my free time, I just hang out with friends around campus. The people you meet here are a lot of fun and a great source of entertainment. (Also, the surrounding area is beautiful, I enjoy running every chance I get). The campus is very inclusive and you will not have any trouble fitting in: diversity is celebrated here. In conclusion, the time you spend here can be life-changing in the best way possible, as long as you know what you want out of the experience and are willing to work for it. Take the fullest advantage of all the resources available to you here, and never be afraid to ask for help.
Fri, 09 Sep 2016 03:08:00 GMT http://www.studentsreview.com/MA/SRC_comments.html
StudentsReview: Positive Review about BCSR for Political Sciencehttp://www.studentsreview.com/MA/SRC_comments.html Simon's Rock is really a place like no other. Not only are our academics exceptional (check that Princeton Review rating), but the faculty and staff that Simon's Rock draws are a testament to the type... Tue, 09 Aug 2016 10:35:59 GMT StudentsReview 598-174771 598-174771 598 58 Political Science Female Undergraduate Class 2019 1st Year Positive Simon's Rock is really a place like no other. Not only are our academics exceptional (check that Princeton Review rating), but the faculty and staff that Simon's Rock draws are a testament to the type of community that the school fosters. Tue, 09 Aug 2016 10:35:59 GMT http://www.studentsreview.com/MA/SRC_comments.html StudentsReview: Advice Review about BCSR for Economicshttp://www.studentsreview.com/MA/SRC_comments.html There's so much that I want to say about this place. Like any school, some factors simply cannot be changed, but other aspects of Simon?s Rock are unlike any other singular academic undergraduate inst... Sun, 13 Dec 2015 04:33:30 GMT StudentsReview 598-172045 598-172045 598 57 Economics Male Undergraduate Class 2017 2nd Year Advice There's so much that I want to say about this place. Like any school, some factors simply cannot be changed, but other aspects of Simon?s Rock are unlike any other singular academic undergraduate institution in the world.

Three major pieces of advice:

First: A large majority of the students here are legally children.

Second: Some of these children are exceptionally mature. Others act immature like one would expect at their age. A select few act outlandishly childish. You can pick who you associate with quite easily.

Third: Try not to burn your bridges until the last moment possible.

The bad part about this mystical location is that it is in the middle of nowhere, Massachusetts. By December the only things left to do are crying, drugs, and gossiping because the snow has barricaded everyone indoors. This is because most students here are still children no matter how much coddling or ?personalization? the professors/staff can give them.

After the first few weeks of the Fall Semester this place becomes a battleground of hormones, emotions, and social groups. Everyone knows who you?re screwing before you?ve even considered it, and don?t even think about having a heartfelt relationship- it ends in tears either 4 years later with a 60% alumni marriage rate or in flames during finals week.

However, don?t let my venting put you off. As a person I have grown so much here. The academics, granted that you find something that you really want to devote your life to, are off the charts. Most of the professors are legends in their field and are willing to give you an opportunity to learn beyond what you ever thought possible. The STEM department stocks exceptional faculty (as well as a given opportunity to get 3 degrees in 5 years while finishing your undergraduate in an Ivy League), and the Social Sciences faculty will challenge your thinking and methodologies at a graduate level (and often teach out of a graduate textbook, too).

Notice how I?ve only now just mentioned academics. This should let you know how much they matter to the average person here. Of course, given that the average IQ per square feet here is higher than any other school (a byproduct of crammed dorms coupled with kid geniuses), most students have aced high school without batting an eye. Here, your first exam will often end in wreckage. Classes are hard, and doing well enough to nail a 3.5 is even tougher. However, if you really push yourself and apply yourself to the courses then the classes are certainly worth the exorbitant tuition and you will end up with a 4.0 (there are no A+?s here? A- = 3.7, A and higher= 4.0).

One important factor: transferring. Students think that coming here will be an easy A and a head start that translates with them landing in an ivy league/1st tier. It isn?t. Most of the top schools for transfers want exceptional SAT?s/Subject Tests, a GPA of 3.7 or higher, and either a cure for cancer or a Nobel Prize. And that?s only to make you competitive. Students who come here often delude themselves that they?ll get into the school of their choosing only to wind up at crap state school. Don?t be that person. Look up what you want to study, if your target schools accept transfers (Princeton does not, Harvard and Yale are crazy competitive, Brown and UPenn have taken transfers in the past from Simon?s Rock, and the rest I leave to you), and if you really want to suffer through this. Unfortunately, our school advertises itself as an easy transfer out, but the process is really tough to wrap your head around and not nearly as easy as it looks. You will probably still need to take an SAT/ACT, nail your grades from the start, and still be really competitive with your extracurricular.

If I had to choose between going here and going to high school, I would pick this place every other time, however. My writing, thinking, and maturity have grown to such heights that I shudder at who I would?ve been if I stayed another 2 years in High School. Just remember, the rat race only gets worse to get into the best universities when you come to Simon?s Rock.
Sun, 13 Dec 2015 04:33:30 GMT http://www.studentsreview.com/MA/SRC_comments.html