StudentsReview - The University of Massachusetts - Amherst - Life at UMass-Amherst Copyright 2016 StudentsReview, Ecliptical Technologies, Inc. http://www.studentsreview.com/MA/UMA_comments.html Life at UMass-Amherst - Comments en StudentsReview: Advice Review about UMass-Amherst for Chemical Engineeringhttp://www.studentsreview.com/MA/UMA_comments.html Umass Amherst can be an amazing place to spend 4 years of your life learning and growing. The simple trick is getting involved. There are endless opportunities but they require you to initiate first. ... Mon, 25 Apr 2016 03:18:17 GMT StudentsReview 604-173371 604-173371 604 8 Chemical Engineering Male Undergraduate Class 2018 2nd Year Advice Umass Amherst can be an amazing place to spend 4 years of your life learning and growing. The simple trick is getting involved. There are endless opportunities but they require you to initiate first. If you want to grow academically and pursue amazing opportunities you will thrive and grow. If college is a lifestyle and "the best years of your life" There is an constant party and nightlife scene to be enjoyed. Totally up to you how you spend your time. No restrictions. Mon, 25 Apr 2016 03:18:17 GMT http://www.studentsreview.com/MA/UMA_comments.html StudentsReview: Neutral Review about UMass-Amherst for Architecture & Urban Planning Departmenthttp://www.studentsreview.com/MA/UMA_comments.html This school is so stank, they make garbage smell good.... Mon, 07 Dec 2015 08:32:11 GMT StudentsReview 604-171951 604-171951 604 59 Architecture & Urban Planning Department Male Undergraduate Class 2017 5th Year Neutral This school is so stank, they make garbage smell good. Mon, 07 Dec 2015 08:32:11 GMT http://www.studentsreview.com/MA/UMA_comments.html StudentsReview: Neutral Review about UMass-Amherst for Geography and Geoscienceshttp://www.studentsreview.com/MA/UMA_comments.html Having just transferred here this semester, I'm wondering if this was the right decision for me. I had heard great things about umass regarding both the academic and social life of the university. How... Tue, 24 Nov 2015 07:26:26 GMT StudentsReview 604-171817 604-171817 604 56 Geography and Geosciences Male Undergraduate Class 2018 1st Year Neutral Having just transferred here this semester, I'm wondering if this was the right decision for me. I had heard great things about umass regarding both the academic and social life of the university. However, while I have found the academics so far to be positive, I can't say the same for the social life. I strongly encourage those who fall into the more 'introverted' category to really consider their options carefully.
Being a soft spoken introvert myself, I've found it quite tricky to form close relationships so far and this only gets more difficult the further you get into the semester.
Despite the large size of the school, it tends to be on the cliquey side which is often the case for state schools. I really do think where you live plays a major factor in how your personality fits into the social scene of your location. However, I'm sure introverts can thrive here as well as long as they put themselves out there a bit more.
On the other hand though, I do love the area and academic aspects of this school and will try my best to make it work.
Tue, 24 Nov 2015 07:26:26 GMT http://www.studentsreview.com/MA/UMA_comments.html
StudentsReview: Neutral Review about UMass-Amherst for Geography and Geoscienceshttp://www.studentsreview.com/MA/UMA_comments.html When I was applying to schools and visited UMass I knew at that moment that it would not be a good match for me. Unfortunately, I didn't listen to my intuition and decided to come anyways due to the p... Wed, 11 Nov 2015 12:16:47 GMT StudentsReview 604-171708 604-171708 604 56 Geography and Geosciences Female Undergraduate Class 2018 1st Year Neutral When I was applying to schools and visited UMass I knew at that moment that it would not be a good match for me. Unfortunately, I didn't listen to my intuition and decided to come anyways due to the price tag and research opportunities.
The academics in my department are fantastic and I have absolutely nothing bad to say about the UMass Geosciences department. They are overall wonderful, helpful, and passionate people.
Unfortunately, that can't make up for the overall vibe of the school. If you went to a normal public high school and enjoyed it, then you'll like UMass. The social life and generally the people that go here are clearly just following the path that was set out for them. The majority of the students don't especially care about their education and are simply here because its the next obvious step in their lives.
I went to a small, weird high school where I thrived, and I should have known better not to go to a massive school. So that's mostly my fault.
Wed, 11 Nov 2015 12:16:47 GMT http://www.studentsreview.com/MA/UMA_comments.html
StudentsReview: Positive Review about UMass-Amherst for Accountinghttp://www.studentsreview.com/MA/UMA_comments.html Business school is ranked as one of the best in the nation. Definitely choose Isenberg over Northeastern and BU. You're paying less for a degree that will 100% get you a job and high salary right out ... Thu, 30 Apr 2015 10:31:16 GMT StudentsReview 604-160480 604-160480 604 1 Accounting Male Undergraduate Class 2016 3rd Year Positive Business school is ranked as one of the best in the nation. Definitely choose Isenberg over Northeastern and BU. You're paying less for a degree that will 100% get you a job and high salary right out of college. The Chase Career Center practically forces an internship and job down your throat- they really care about UMASS students. Thu, 30 Apr 2015 10:31:16 GMT http://www.studentsreview.com/MA/UMA_comments.html