StudentsReview - The University of Massachusetts - Amherst - Life at UMass-Amherst Copyright 2021 StudentsReview, Ecliptical Technologies, Inc. http://www.studentsreview.com/MA/UMA_comments.html Life at UMass-Amherst - Comments en StudentsReview: Neutral Review about UMass-Amherst for Mathhttp://www.studentsreview.com/MA/UMA_comments.html They should offer some courses that would be more useful to the average Liberal Arts grad here, like: 'Rotating stock in the Whole Foods produce section' 'Basic electronics for the operation of ... Fri, 10 May 2019 08:37:23 GMT StudentsReview 604-184788 604-184788 604 23 Math Male Undergraduate Class 2011 1st Year Neutral They should offer some courses that would be more useful to the average Liberal Arts grad here, like:

'Rotating stock in the Whole Foods produce section'
'Basic electronics for the operation of Starbucks espresso machines'
'Facing shelves at Trader Joe's while listening to Democracy Now! podcasts on headphones'

Think before you spend
Fri, 10 May 2019 08:37:23 GMT http://www.studentsreview.com/MA/UMA_comments.html
StudentsReview: Negative Review about UMass-Amherst for Otherhttp://www.studentsreview.com/MA/UMA_comments.html Because UWW is online, Professor Hendra in Leadership, ignored most students most of the class then came back at the end with senseless derogatory comments: Right after the deadline for a refund. The ... Fri, 16 Nov 2018 02:22:33 GMT StudentsReview 604-183926 604-183926 604 53 Other Female Undergraduate Class 1922 1st Year Negative Because UWW is online, Professor Hendra in Leadership, ignored most students most of the class then came back at the end with senseless derogatory comments: Right after the deadline for a refund. The students, including myself, tried to help him, so we could log in and have a class at all. Worse yet is that instead of resolving issues,the administration stick together no matter what and the students are the paying enemies. Fri, 16 Nov 2018 02:22:33 GMT http://www.studentsreview.com/MA/UMA_comments.html StudentsReview: Positive Review about UMass-Amherst for Political Sciencehttp://www.studentsreview.com/MA/UMA_comments.html My school not only deals with students in the United States, but also a lot of students internationally and we all are treated the same. We have a lot of different clubs and a lot of opportunities to ... Fri, 29 Jun 2018 05:47:57 GMT StudentsReview 604-183354 604-183354 604 58 Political Science Female Undergraduate Class 1921 1st Year Positive My school not only deals with students in the United States, but also a lot of students internationally and we all are treated the same. We have a lot of different clubs and a lot of opportunities to create new clubs if the one you want isn't available. And the professors and advisors are very involved!! Fri, 29 Jun 2018 05:47:57 GMT http://www.studentsreview.com/MA/UMA_comments.html StudentsReview: Neutral Review about UMass-Amherst for Communicationshttp://www.studentsreview.com/MA/UMA_comments.html U Mass, a.k.a. Zoo Mass, has its advantages. They have excellent programs in engineering, business, computer science applied science and agricultural degrees. I made the mistake of majoring in Communi... Wed, 17 Jan 2018 12:23:26 GMT StudentsReview 604-182372 604-182372 604 54 Communications Male Undergraduate Class 1998 2nd Year Neutral U Mass, a.k.a. Zoo Mass, has its advantages. They have excellent programs in engineering, business, computer science applied science and agricultural degrees. I made the mistake of majoring in Communications which for the most part is a joke of a degree with little to no hands on approach to its curriculum. U Mass is a very difficult school as you can easily get lost in the shuffle and fall into the Zoo Mass/party/drugs aspect of UMass. However, there are quite a few who graduate from this school. The key is to know what you want and choose the right major.

Furthermore, it's 4 years of post-adolescent daycare in a controlled setting. There are far too many students and many are naive that the return of investment of their degrees will backfire on them. U Mass lets far too many students in and U Mass has far too many worthless degrees. The best thing to happen to this school is a crack down on its administration.
Wed, 17 Jan 2018 12:23:26 GMT http://www.studentsreview.com/MA/UMA_comments.html
StudentsReview: Advice Review about UMass-Amherst for Industrial Designhttp://www.studentsreview.com/MA/UMA_comments.html I went to Umass through the Mass Transfer program, so I only had to go for two years thankfully. I was not a fan of my time at Umass and ended up stacking classes to get out. Unfortunately I had to en... Tue, 28 Mar 2017 10:18:11 GMT StudentsReview 604-179356 604-179356 604 67 Industrial Design Male Undergraduate Class 2016 2nd Year Advice I went to Umass through the Mass Transfer program, so I only had to go for two years thankfully. I was not a fan of my time at Umass and ended up stacking classes to get out. Unfortunately I had to endure the ending of election 2016 in super left Umass. The university is largely left leaning, so is the area and many people come off as condescending and somewhat rude if you have a different opinion than them. In many of my courses, I refrained from participating trying not to get the whole class to attack my opinion. I made the mistake of opening my mouth a few times and was met with a roar of disapproval from my peers on subjectively uncontroversial subjects. Most of campus lands on the far left side of the spectrum and Bernie Sanders and Hillary Clinton were held as messiahs. Rarely I met people I could have an open conversation with.
I know UMass is a giant school and it has every kind of person you could imagine, just remember that Amherst and Northampton are the meccas for "progressives" and their ideals. Really even if you try and stay away from politics at school, it remains so in your face that it hurts. I felt ostracized at times and questioned if I was stupid because I didn't fit in with many of my classmates.
Overall I'm glad I got through and wanted to go home every weekend. Now that I'm out I hope to move somewhere far away from Massachusetts. The Social justice bleeding hearts really made me dislike going here. the activist culture is alive and well at Umass. I just would like people to heed my warning about the activist culture around Umass. They are the "majority" here, and yes they were still yelling that months and months after the election was over. Third wave feminism is rampant. Black Live Matter, Socialists, Communists, The whole nine yards was there. Soaked in cultural marxism to the core. You can meet people that just don't want to talk identity politics and you can just have a casual conversation with, but I found them a bit hard to come by.
Plus the size of the campus is quite large and going class to class can take up to 25-30 depending on where you are, FYI.
Tue, 28 Mar 2017 10:18:11 GMT http://www.studentsreview.com/MA/UMA_comments.html