StudentsReview - Williams College - Life at Williams Copyright 2020 StudentsReview, Ecliptical Technologies, Inc. http://www.studentsreview.com/MA/WIC_comments.html Life at Williams - Comments en StudentsReview: Negative Review about Williams for Economicshttp://www.studentsreview.com/MA/WIC_comments.html To be honest, I regret applying to Economics. 1) The isolation is overbearing, and I have had to seek medical attention for serious depression. 2) Very preppy, judgmental students. If the majority o... Sun, 05 May 2013 03:36:30 GMT StudentsReview 614-93669 614-93669 614 57 Economics Male Undergraduate Class 2000 Negative To be honest, I regret applying to Economics.
1) The isolation is overbearing, and I have had to seek medical attention for serious depression.
2) Very preppy, judgmental students. If the majority of your closet does not consist of brand labels, they won't even talk to you. Of course, there are people who don't act this way, but they're often nerds/geeks or losers who were kicked out or rejected from cliques.
3)Underlying racism if you're not white.
4) Honestly, a liberal arts degree is not of a high value. It won't get you as far as other universities.
5) Friends have never heard of it, and often gets confused with Williams and Marry.
6) hate the campus layout, very choppy and segregated.
6) Food is not that good, gets repetitive. There aren't good restaurants around Williams town, so you're basically stuck.
Sun, 05 May 2013 03:36:30 GMT http://www.studentsreview.com/MA/WIC_comments.html
StudentsReview: Positive Review about Williams for History/Histories (art history/etc.)http://www.studentsreview.com/MA/WIC_comments.html I would rate my experience thus far at Williams as extremely positive and it seems to me that most of the students responding to this site represent a small minority on campus who are for whatever rea... Wed, 24 Feb 2010 02:12:24 GMT StudentsReview 614-65347 614-65347 614 41 History/Histories (art history/etc.) Male Undergraduate Class 2011 2nd Year Positive I would rate my experience thus far at Williams as extremely positive and it seems to me that most of the students responding to this site represent a small minority on campus who are for whatever reason dissatisfied, whether they come from a huge city and expected lots of nightlife or were unprepared for the huge workload. Williams gives its students fantastic flexibility and allows for a lot of creativity in your fields as well. The faculty here are so approachable. I have truly enjoyed my time here getting to know faculty and staff beyond our time in the classroom. Grading here is pretty fair, but WARNING: you have to work very hard. The workload is greater than at Harvard and other Ivy schools where the prevailing philosophy is, "once you are in, you must be smart, so we'll give you a good grade." Lots of extracurricular activities, especially if you love the outdoors.

I highly recommend visiting the school!
Wed, 24 Feb 2010 02:12:24 GMT http://www.studentsreview.com/MA/WIC_comments.html
StudentsReview: Negative Review about Williams for Chemistryhttp://www.studentsreview.com/MA/WIC_comments.html I am from NY, so maybe my dislike for Williams College stems from the differences in the night life.(There is NOTHING to do here) But I also think that the students here just work incredibly hard and ... Sat, 16 May 2009 02:10:42 GMT StudentsReview 614-60331 614-60331 614 9 Chemistry Female Undergraduate Class 2012 1st Year Negative I am from NY, so maybe my dislike for Williams College stems from the differences in the night life.(There is NOTHING to do here) But I also think that the students here just work incredibly hard and have no time for fun. When they do have a little bit of time on the weekends they spend it drowning their misery with alcohol. Also, the people here are arrogant because they got into the "#1 liberal arts college in the US." Their intelligence and talents alone do not explain their sense of entitlement and superiority. Many students here are unhappy, although they will not admit as to not be shunned. They all have to rationalize to themselves that they are getting a fantastic education. But the truth is that you will get an great education (almost) anywhere, without having to sacrifice happiness. In order to have a great college experience, you need to balance hard work with hard play. Sat, 16 May 2009 02:10:42 GMT http://www.studentsreview.com/MA/WIC_comments.html StudentsReview: Neutral Review about Williams for Philosophyhttp://www.studentsreview.com/MA/WIC_comments.html Williams is a very competitive environment. If you like challenges, whether in academics, art, or athletics, the bonds you will forge will be most satisfying. Being a close-knit community, one needs... Fri, 27 Mar 2009 09:28:25 GMT StudentsReview 614-58880 614-58880 614 32 Philosophy Male Undergraduate Class 2011 2nd Year Neutral Williams is a very competitive environment. If you like challenges, whether in academics, art, or athletics, the bonds you will forge will be most satisfying. Being a close-knit community, one needs to make an effort to find your place within these remarkable grounds. For the most part, I rarely meet people who are unhappy here. For those that are, I am certain they find their way to give unkind remarks, and suffer their dissillusionment in privacy of their rooms.

Williams is what you make of it. It either will be a great and rewarding experience, or an unpleasant reminder of having made a poor choice. Being amidst a very rural and isolated part of the state, can be daunting for loners who live within busy urban communities where anonymity can suffer their discontent. This community is for motivated individuals who are willing to challenge themselves to become better students and participative members of our greater community.

For the most part my professors are bright, in some cases, witty, and challenging. Then there are some whom we regret, but fortunately there are few and students generally avoid them.

Then there are occasions where I find the political correctness of the institution rather suffocating. Here students rarely speak their mind, as rumors can spread rapidly and alter your congenial social life. We find that privately, we speak our minds, but publicly, keep our voices to ourselves. I do not believe this is only characteristic of the Williams culture, but that there is in general an underlying subculture which prevails throughout our entire academic communities on numerous issues that prevent debate and that "good conversation".

In closing, Williams is a special place, "the purple bubble", a misty world unto itself. It draws those who seek qualities that the great liberal arts institutions strive for.
Fri, 27 Mar 2009 09:28:25 GMT http://www.studentsreview.com/MA/WIC_comments.html
StudentsReview: Negative Review about Williams for Art & Design Departmenthttp://www.studentsreview.com/MA/WIC_comments.html The school is extremely stingy in allocating funds even though its has a 1.5 billion dollar endowment. They find ways to nickel and dime you constantly, working in cooperation with the town to make th... Wed, 21 Jan 2009 01:52:06 GMT StudentsReview 614-57101 614-57101 614 60 Art & Design Department Female Undergraduate Class 2009 3rd Year Negative The school is extremely stingy in allocating funds even though its has a 1.5 billion dollar endowment. They find ways to nickel and dime you constantly, working in cooperation with the town to make the most of these opportunities (for example with parking). It also impossible to get anything changed due to the ineffectiveness or ineptitude of the schools bureaucratic structure. The school also tends to cave to vocal minorities at the expense of the majority. For example the overabundance of vegan food options at the expense of food quality for everyone else. The town also lacks anything fun to do. The school tries to promote all the local business, which is fine, however when both these business and the school take advantage of their isolated location and overcharge it becomes a problem. There was a subway, but that burned down in a fire started in a failing coffee shop owned by one of the school's largest proprietors. Its been over two years and subway has not been replaced or reinstated. The school also gives off the impression that is being so generous and it is the students who are being unrealistic, however if you take the time to visit other nescac schools you will see that it is the college being stingy and not the fault of the students. Other nescac schools consistently upgrade (w/o cheaping out on quality) academic, athletic, dining, and housing facilities while Williams prefers to execute plans to appease students that are poorly planned and executed (if at all) for example the 30 million dollar student center that cant even function properly as a dining hall. In summary, I guess its fair to say the school's current plight (unknown to non-students) can be attributed to the ineptitude of those in charge of decision making. Wed, 21 Jan 2009 01:52:06 GMT http://www.studentsreview.com/MA/WIC_comments.html