StudentsReview - Lake Superior State University - Life at LSSU Copyright 2019 StudentsReview, Ecliptical Technologies, Inc. http://www.studentsreview.com/MI/LSSU_comments.html Life at LSSU - Comments en StudentsReview: Neutral Review about LSSU for Electrical Engineeringhttp://www.studentsreview.com/MI/LSSU_comments.html If your looking to learn the I formation they will teach you. The faculty are all English speaking as their first language. Small, the staff work with what they have.... Fri, 07 Aug 2015 06:21:48 GMT StudentsReview 682-168732 682-168732 682 16 Electrical Engineering Male Undergraduate Class 2009 4th Year Neutral If your looking to learn the I formation they will teach you. The faculty are all English speaking as their first language. Small, the staff work with what they have. Fri, 07 Aug 2015 06:21:48 GMT http://www.studentsreview.com/MI/LSSU_comments.html StudentsReview: Negative Review about LSSU for Psychologyhttp://www.studentsreview.com/MI/LSSU_comments.html The classes at LSSU are nice; small and fairly easy. Staff is approachable and willing to help, at least in psych courses. Unfortunately, that's the only good thing I can say about this school. The... Thu, 20 Nov 2014 11:50:51 GMT StudentsReview 682-153904 682-153904 682 38 Psychology Female Undergraduate Class 2016 2nd Year Negative The classes at LSSU are nice; small and fairly easy. Staff is approachable and willing to help, at least in psych courses.

Unfortunately, that's the only good thing I can say about this school. The food is bad, the plowing in the winter is horrible, the surrounding town is dull and the tourist strip closes a month into the school year.Low funding has cut the cafeteria hours and the hours of other places on campus. Most recently, our school has been scrambling to meet the criteria for being handicap accessible (ramps, parking spots). It's tragic.

Side note, if you are even a tiny bit liberal, expect classmates and other students to exile you for having an opinion different from theirs. At least that is my experience.
Thu, 20 Nov 2014 11:50:51 GMT http://www.studentsreview.com/MI/LSSU_comments.html
StudentsReview: Negative Review about LSSU for Computer Sciencehttp://www.studentsreview.com/MI/LSSU_comments.html LSSU is for you if you like to hunt, drink beer, and talk about how faggots are taking your guns away. If you think any of this is offensive or uninviting, stay far, far away. Professors are horrid as... Sun, 07 Sep 2014 09:55:08 GMT StudentsReview 682-126145 682-126145 682 12 Computer Science Male Undergraduate Class 2018 1st Year Negative LSSU is for you if you like to hunt, drink beer, and talk about how faggots are taking your guns away. If you think any of this is offensive or uninviting, stay far, far away. Professors are horrid as well. You are a entity that produces money! Sun, 07 Sep 2014 09:55:08 GMT http://www.studentsreview.com/MI/LSSU_comments.html StudentsReview: Negative Review about LSSU for Undecidedhttp://www.studentsreview.com/MI/LSSU_comments.html This school is extremely boring. There's nothing ever going on. If you want to find a party, good luck, because there aren't any. I feel like I'm still in high school, and I'm not partaking in the so-... Thu, 04 Oct 2012 02:51:46 GMT StudentsReview 682-89693 682-89693 682 52 Undecided Male Undergraduate Class 2016 1st Year Negative This school is extremely boring. There's nothing ever going on. If you want to find a party, good luck, because there aren't any. I feel like I'm still in high school, and I'm not partaking in the so-called "college-experience." The people aren't attractive, and I find myself in my room watching tv most of the time. I'm incredibly bored. If you don't like to party or have a social life, this school is great for you, but I, personally, want to have a good time at college. Frankly, that isn't happening at this point. Thu, 04 Oct 2012 02:51:46 GMT http://www.studentsreview.com/MI/LSSU_comments.html StudentsReview: Negative Review about LSSU for Otherhttp://www.studentsreview.com/MI/LSSU_comments.html Before I begin bashing this place, I'll list the positives about this school: 1. The people are nice all over from head to toe. 2. Campus is safe. People wander around alone at 3am all the time (me ... Thu, 23 Sep 2010 10:57:23 GMT StudentsReview 682-71355 682-71355 682 53 Other Male Undergraduate Class 2011 4th Year Negative Before I begin bashing this place, I'll list the positives about this school:
1. The people are nice all over from head to toe.
2. Campus is safe. People wander around alone at 3am all the time (me included) and wake up the next day in their own bed with all their clothes still on.
3. 99% of the teachers are very good people and want you to succeed. These are the teachers that every university should be filled with and I pity the suckers at Ivy League school's paying 50,000 for a teacher that doesn't give a damn about them.
4. The administration doesn't walk around like they are gods. They are real people who will sit down and even have dinner/lunch with you regularly in the dining halls.

And now for the bad:

1. One of LSSU's main selling points are it's strong backgrounds in Nursing, Fisheries and Wildlife, and Fire Science. Unfortunately, the school's claim that it is one of the best Firefighting schools in the nation is backed by no evidence. There are no rankings, no awards, nothing to back up the school's claim as an amazing Firefighting school. As a matter of fact, the school can not even offer a hiring rate for students that graduated out of the program and Googling "Best Fire Science University" gets you not even a single mention of Lake Superior State University. Not only that, but the training facilities are pretty moot compared to what is offered at other universities.

I do not doubt that their offering of a Bachelor's degree in this field is special amoung Fire Science programs in the nation, as most only offer Associate's. However, I have had very little to re-convince me that this place is the utopia for Firefighters.

2. As far as the Nursing program goes, it is pretty much the same deal as the Fire Science program. I consistently hear nurses say that their degree here is great because "X-Hospital only hires Lake State grads". Whether or not this is true, I do not know. However... what place ISN'T hiring nurses right now?

3. Sault Ste Marie is a hell hole. It doesn't know what the it's identity is and living here makes you feel like you are in The Truman Show. Coming from a major world city, living in this place is suicide-inducing. It goes half way towards being a family town, a college town, a tourist town, and a nature attraction yet doesn't fully fulfill itself in either of those categories. Especially as a college town.... it doesn't offer much of anything for the college students. Everything closes by 9pm for the most part except for a Taco Bell, Walmart, and a few other places like gas stations. Going into town makes you feel like you are in The Truman Show. Everything in this town as "Soo" in front of it. This is because the "Sault" in Sault Ste. Marie is actually pronounced "Soo". It also makes for a creepy-ass, bland, tacky experience everytime you leave campus.
Thu, 23 Sep 2010 10:57:23 GMT http://www.studentsreview.com/MI/LSSU_comments.html