StudentsReview - Gustavus Adolphus College - Life at GAC Copyright 2020 StudentsReview, Ecliptical Technologies, Inc. http://www.studentsreview.com/MN/GAC_comments.html Life at GAC - Comments en StudentsReview: Neutral Review about GAC for Biologyhttp://www.studentsreview.com/MN/GAC_comments.html No one outside of Minnesota or northern Iowa knows of this college, nor does it matter. If going back in time, I'd have bypassed all MIAC colleges and gone to the UofM campus in the Cities. Gustavu... Sun, 15 May 2016 12:24:32 GMT StudentsReview 712-173570 712-173570 712 6 Biology Male Undergraduate Alumnus Class 2000 Neutral No one outside of Minnesota or northern Iowa knows of this college, nor does it matter. If going back in time, I'd have bypassed all MIAC colleges and gone to the UofM campus in the Cities.

Gustavus didn't instill any character-building. I came with good morality and academics out of high school. I got bullied and slammed by females on campus (vicious rumor mill types) that led to me standing up to her and then getting reprimanded and having to do community service. Meanwhile, she has no hand-slap for slander and defamation. Following, I had a horrible housing number and got shafted and had to be the only seniors in a fresh/soph dorm.

Nevermind the repeated unacceptable behaviors and attitudes of Greek frats (the Reds, for example) and sororities, yet they are lauded and admired from admin to faculty.
Sun, 15 May 2016 12:24:32 GMT http://www.studentsreview.com/MN/GAC_comments.html
StudentsReview: Neutral Review about GAC for Nursinghttp://www.studentsreview.com/MN/GAC_comments.html I find the faculty to be top-notch and challenging. My parents are professors and they also agree that the faculty are quite stellar and dedicated teachers. However, the excellence of the faculty gets... Fri, 14 Feb 2014 01:13:15 GMT StudentsReview 712-101489 712-101489 712 30 Nursing Male Undergraduate Class 2016 3rd Year Neutral I find the faculty to be top-notch and challenging. My parents are professors and they also agree that the faculty are quite stellar and dedicated teachers. However, the excellence of the faculty gets washed out by the mediocrity of the students who go to this college. While there are certainly bright students, they are one in a handful. Most students come from affluent backgrounds like myself (in other words sheltered from a diverse world), and they come to Gustavus to live four years in a world sheltered from any kind of difference or diversity that exists in the real world. My peers here are not eager to meet different people nor are they curious about expanding their world or who they are. I'm fortunate to get to go to college, but I wish I applied for a public university like U of Minnesota. The academics are great, but in the end you also need peers who strive for excellence in order to excel, and that's not exactly my experience here. Fri, 14 Feb 2014 01:13:15 GMT http://www.studentsreview.com/MN/GAC_comments.html StudentsReview: Neutral Review about GAC for Otherhttp://www.studentsreview.com/MN/GAC_comments.html The academics here at Gustavus are pretty darn good. I've only had one bad experience with a professor, and I currently have my favorite prof as my adviser. The food is pretty good, too; however, some... Wed, 09 Oct 2013 03:08:02 GMT StudentsReview 712-96386 712-96386 712 53 Other Male Undergraduate Class 2017 1st Year Neutral The academics here at Gustavus are pretty darn good. I've only had one bad experience with a professor, and I currently have my favorite prof as my adviser. The food is pretty good, too; however, sometimes the choices can be somewhat limited. Be prepared for very exclusive fine arts extracurriculars, though. It is next to impossible to get into one of the bands and to get a part in the plays here. Also, it's extremely difficult to get a fine arts merit scholarship. Wed, 09 Oct 2013 03:08:02 GMT http://www.studentsreview.com/MN/GAC_comments.html StudentsReview: Positive Review about GAC for Political Sciencehttp://www.studentsreview.com/MN/GAC_comments.html Great academics and professors. Student body lacks diversity (in any sense of the word). It is a bubble environment.... Sun, 09 Sep 2012 02:51:57 GMT StudentsReview 712-89354 712-89354 712 58 Political Science Male Undergraduate Class 2005 4th Year Positive Great academics and professors. Student body lacks diversity (in any sense of the word). It is a bubble environment. Sun, 09 Sep 2012 02:51:57 GMT http://www.studentsreview.com/MN/GAC_comments.html StudentsReview: Positive Review about GAC for History/Histories (art history/etc.)http://www.studentsreview.com/MN/GAC_comments.html Gustavus provides an excellent liberal arts education. The faculty is accessible and always willing to help. I was amazed by the quality of the faculty. You will have small class sizes and professors ... Sun, 09 Sep 2012 01:43:51 GMT StudentsReview 712-89352 712-89352 712 41 History/Histories (art history/etc.) Male Undergraduate Alumnus Class 2000 Positive Gustavus provides an excellent liberal arts education. The faculty is accessible and always willing to help. I was amazed by the quality of the faculty. You will have small class sizes and professors who take an active interest in their students. All of the professors are pleased to work with students for as long as the students are available. Some of the departments, e.g. History, are amongst the best in the country for a LAC. An exceptional academic experience.

A dissatifcation is the administration. Gustavus spends entirely too much money on adminstrative officials and non-academic programs. The instituitonal advancement group is clueless and no one seems to be concerned (just raise tuition to accomodate for the lack of endowment building). Do not expect any assistance on internships and the like.

The largest dissatisfaction is the student body. Many cliques that carry on for four years in an isolated small town setting. More cliques than high school. The faculty and academic environment makes up for this in some respects.
Sun, 09 Sep 2012 01:43:51 GMT http://www.studentsreview.com/MN/GAC_comments.html