StudentsReview - Arizona State University - Tempe - Life at ASU-Tempe Copyright 2016 StudentsReview, Ecliptical Technologies, Inc. http://www.studentsreview.com/AZ/ASU_comments.html Life at ASU-Tempe - Comments en StudentsReview: Negative Review about ASU-Tempe for Otherhttp://www.studentsreview.com/AZ/ASU_comments.html ASU has become a for profit pretending to be a not for profit. Tuition is set just high enough to pay for it by maxing out your student loans. Refund policies are challenging and it's impossible to ge... Sat, 17 Sep 2016 01:08:50 GMT StudentsReview 80-175693 80-175693 80 53 Other Female Undergraduate Class 2019 3rd Year Negative ASU has become a for profit pretending to be a not for profit. Tuition is set just high enough to pay for it by maxing out your student loans. Refund policies are challenging and it's impossible to get a straight answer on anything from the financial aid department.
Also they go on a semester system but divide it into 2 giving each class 7.5 weeks. That's okay for some classes, but in many such as statistics and calculus as well as computer programming, you will be expected to put in 30 hours per week of work. The major problem with this is that this program is marketed towards working adults, yet you are expected to put in 60 hours per week of studying. If you find that the work load was not what you could handle, you must drop your class within the first week or still be responsible for paying the full tuition.
Sat, 17 Sep 2016 01:08:50 GMT http://www.studentsreview.com/AZ/ASU_comments.html
StudentsReview: Neutral Review about ASU-Tempe for Otherhttp://www.studentsreview.com/AZ/ASU_comments.html I really like to think that ASU has a great philosophy in terms of enrollment. The high acceptance rate ensures many people get to go to school when they normally wouldn't have the opportunity. After ... Sat, 10 Oct 2015 09:12:38 GMT StudentsReview 80-171223 80-171223 80 53 Other Female Undergraduate Class 2019 1st Year Neutral I really like to think that ASU has a great philosophy in terms of enrollment. The high acceptance rate ensures many people get to go to school when they normally wouldn't have the opportunity. After all, you can never really know someones background or why they did poorly in high school. However receiving a quality, worthwhile education can be difficult; it will take a lot more than just going to class and getting 'good' grades.
An ASU degree alone will not get you too far. You will have to work very hard and get onto research programs, join many clubs and reach out for a considerable amount of internships.
The social scene at ASU will give anyone anxiety. Greek life dominates and is very judgmental and shallow. Not everyone involved in a sorority/frat is that way but a whole lot are. The greek life has set standards for behavior and anyone who deviates from 'the norm' will face a certain extent of social isolation.
With that being said, ASU is still one of the biggest schools in America. A ton of people go here so in theory anyone should be able to make friends. Some people will just have to search a little harder to find their group.
If you're an out of state kid who either couldn't get in anywhere else, or got the most economical deal out of this school I seriously recommend you take a different path. Maybe consider joining the americorps for a year and/or go to community college. If you build up your resume and are able to pull up your grades with a local affordable school you will have so many more options.
I just transferred to a considerably more 'academic' school (UNC) and I am in awe about how much nicer and more accepting people are. In high school I never had trouble making friends, at ASU I was very isolated and even bullied. I don't want to use my one negative experience to down talk a school, but I really want prospective students to know that ASU can be a very lonely place.
As far as academics go if you really don't have to put in much effort, just do your work. Even if you half ass every assignment and only study a little bit you will still pass with at least a C+.
Sat, 10 Oct 2015 09:12:38 GMT http://www.studentsreview.com/AZ/ASU_comments.html
StudentsReview: Negative Review about ASU-Tempe for Computer Sciencehttp://www.studentsreview.com/AZ/ASU_comments.html Arizona State University. This school has the worst employees. Vanessa was very rude. She won't let me finish talking and when i told her to let me finish she said I was yelling at her and does not to... Sat, 15 Aug 2015 12:24:26 GMT StudentsReview 80-169625 80-169625 80 12 Computer Science Male Undergraduate Class 2017 2nd Year Negative Arizona State University. This school has the worst employees. Vanessa was very rude. She won't let me finish talking and when i told her to let me finish she said I was yelling at her and does not tolerate it. I told her she represents an education institution employee but she is so rude! She cut me off again saying I was yelling. Every time I tell her to stop interrupting me she said I was yelling at her. She did not even apologize.

This school admitted my son and when he was ready to register for classes they said he couldn't enroll because he did not meet transfer requirements. Then after few semesters at MCC and when finally enrolled, they changed his program couple of times which will take longer to finish. Then Vanessa said they sent billing to student email address when the financial statement online said he had loans. Now they won't let my son register so he can't finish college because he owes thousands of dollars. They want him to pay off in six months so he can go back. Where do you think a no college degree working minimum? paying off 10k in 6 months? We asked Vanessa if any other options so my son can finish school, get a job and payoff his debt. She flat said No!!! DO NOT GO TO THIS SCHOOL!!!!! DO NOT GO TO THIS SCHOOL!!!!! YOU WILL BE SORRY!! ! Employees here are heartless manipulative opportunistic money hunger people!!! They Will only educate you to practice your patience with mean spirited people like Vanessa!!!!!
Sat, 15 Aug 2015 12:24:26 GMT http://www.studentsreview.com/AZ/ASU_comments.html
StudentsReview: Negative Review about ASU-Tempe for Engineering Departmenthttp://www.studentsreview.com/AZ/ASU_comments.html After four full years of engineering "education" here at ASU with a 3.98 GPA, I can honestly say that ASU is a degree mill. The most developed system at ASU is their billing department. Never skips a ... Wed, 01 Apr 2015 07:35:48 GMT StudentsReview 80-159065 80-159065 80 61 Engineering Department Female Undergraduate Class 2019 4th Year Negative After four full years of engineering "education" here at ASU with a 3.98 GPA, I can honestly say that ASU is a degree mill. The most developed system at ASU is their billing department. Never skips a beat. Counseling and Advising? Doesn't exist in a productive form as of 2015. They evaluate everyone's prior credit differently even when the students have the same previous credits. Think about that. 30 days to get into a PHONE advising session. At the end of the day advising extends your graduation because they made a mistake. About 50% of the professors are deadbeats in one way or another. There is no educational process control unless it involves money.
ASU is becoming UOP.
Wed, 01 Apr 2015 07:35:48 GMT http://www.studentsreview.com/AZ/ASU_comments.html
StudentsReview: Neutral Review about ASU-Tempe for Business - Management and Administrationhttp://www.studentsreview.com/AZ/ASU_comments.html Instructor videos posted for online classes are in VERY UNPROFESSIONAL settings. This is a huge turn-off for me and I believe this sets the bar extremely low for ASU graduates to achieve greatness onc... Mon, 16 Mar 2015 02:05:43 GMT StudentsReview 80-158327 80-158327 80 7 Business - Management and Administration Female Undergraduate Class 2015 3rd Year Neutral Instructor videos posted for online classes are in VERY UNPROFESSIONAL settings. This is a huge turn-off for me and I believe this sets the bar extremely low for ASU graduates to achieve greatness once they are seeking careers of their own. Professors need to realize that they are mentors for young adults and as such should dress and speak appropriately. Mon, 16 Mar 2015 02:05:43 GMT http://www.studentsreview.com/AZ/ASU_comments.html