StudentsReview - Arizona State University - Tempe - Life at ASU-Tempe Copyright 2015 StudentsReview, Ecliptical Technologies, Inc. http://www.studentsreview.com/AZ/ASU_comments.html Life at ASU-Tempe - Comments en StudentsReview: Negative Review about ASU-Tempe for Engineering Departmenthttp://www.studentsreview.com/AZ/ASU_comments.html After four full years of engineering "education" here at ASU with a 3.98 GPA, I can honestly say that ASU is a degree mill. The most developed system at ASU is their billing department. Never skips a ... Wed, 01 Apr 2015 07:35:48 GMT StudentsReview 80-159065 80-159065 80 61 Engineering Department Female Undergraduate Class 2019 4th Year Negative After four full years of engineering "education" here at ASU with a 3.98 GPA, I can honestly say that ASU is a degree mill. The most developed system at ASU is their billing department. Never skips a beat. Counseling and Advising? Doesn't exist in a productive form as of 2015. They evaluate everyone's prior credit differently even when the students have the same previous credits. Think about that. 30 days to get into a PHONE advising session. At the end of the day advising extends your graduation because they made a mistake. About 50% of the professors are deadbeats in one way or another. There is no educational process control unless it involves money.
ASU is becoming UOP.
Wed, 01 Apr 2015 07:35:48 GMT http://www.studentsreview.com/AZ/ASU_comments.html
StudentsReview: Neutral Review about ASU-Tempe for Business - Management and Administrationhttp://www.studentsreview.com/AZ/ASU_comments.html Instructor videos posted for online classes are in VERY UNPROFESSIONAL settings. This is a huge turn-off for me and I believe this sets the bar extremely low for ASU graduates to achieve greatness onc... Mon, 16 Mar 2015 02:05:43 GMT StudentsReview 80-158327 80-158327 80 7 Business - Management and Administration Female Undergraduate Class 2015 3rd Year Neutral Instructor videos posted for online classes are in VERY UNPROFESSIONAL settings. This is a huge turn-off for me and I believe this sets the bar extremely low for ASU graduates to achieve greatness once they are seeking careers of their own. Professors need to realize that they are mentors for young adults and as such should dress and speak appropriately. Mon, 16 Mar 2015 02:05:43 GMT http://www.studentsreview.com/AZ/ASU_comments.html StudentsReview: Negative Review about ASU-Tempe for Geography and Geoscienceshttp://www.studentsreview.com/AZ/ASU_comments.html The Geography program at ASU will make you want to jump off a cliff. In our Geography program, we have covered tons of other majors while still maintaining the title "Geography". ASU's administrati... Mon, 02 Mar 2015 01:49:17 GMT StudentsReview 80-157694 80-157694 80 56 Geography and Geosciences Male Undergraduate Class 2000 Negative The Geography program at ASU will make you want to jump off a cliff. In our Geography program, we have covered tons of other majors while still maintaining the title "Geography".

ASU's administration goes with the "Who needs Geographers when we can use our cell phones and computers to locate places on earth?" idea that Geographers are unworthy. So, because us Geographers are unworthy, we are forced to study other subjects non-geography related, just to earn a degree in Geography.

In order to earn a degree in Geography you will have to master a second language, science, economics, communication, political science. My point here is that you will be blindsided by the range of topics you will be discussing during your Geography classes. Be prepared.

Most of the classes you will take in Geography will be Hybrid courses where you will be in class rooms with 100-400 other students along with the ridiculously formatted online homework assignments and quizzes that are always due at midnight of set date. Then you come back to class and take a test that doesn't even cover anything that we were told to study. Most of the questions that eventually end up on these tests are usually BURIED DEEP WITHIN AN OVERPRICED TEXTBOOK THAT WE SELDOMLY USE.

Some of my geography classes cover tons of Sympathy/Guilt-bating topics like "Impoverished India" or Impoverished Africa. In your GCU 102 class, you will have to watch movies(plural, you will watch many of these movies) of Indian people starving themselves and that white people should be ashamed of themselves for allowing these Indian people to starve themselves. These were very awkward movies to watch, even more awkward when there are about 20 Indian students surrounding you in your class. To a degree, Africa is covered in this same light as well. At the conclusion of this course, you will learn that the worlds problems are the fault of the "White Man". Well, according to the lazy ASU professor and/or the words of the company that published the textbooks for our course. No, the teachers will not question what is written in the textbook. Even if it is inflammatory or even stereotypical.

The teachers just teach by the book, lecture you on their views of these world problems and then take points off your grade if you don't agree with them. Meaning, if you want to discuss these topics intellectually, prepare to lose points!

There are many other issues I have had, but I only chose to highlight these topics in particular.

Geography major + ASU student = Get ready to pay a HIGH price for your degree!
Mon, 02 Mar 2015 01:49:17 GMT http://www.studentsreview.com/AZ/ASU_comments.html
StudentsReview: Negative Review about ASU-Tempe for Engineering Departmenthttp://www.studentsreview.com/AZ/ASU_comments.html Two people have committed suicide during the past three years I've been here and some I've heard want to do the same. ASU is uninspiring especially their over-crowded engineering programs. Why hire... Fri, 27 Feb 2015 09:06:06 GMT StudentsReview 80-157607 80-157607 80 61 Engineering Department Male Undergraduate Class 2000 Negative Two people have committed suicide during the past three years I've been here and some I've heard want to do the same.
ASU is uninspiring especially their over-crowded engineering programs.
Why hire someone who doesn't speak English clearly? Why are upper division classes still 200+ students?
Get your shit together. End of story.
Fri, 27 Feb 2015 09:06:06 GMT http://www.studentsreview.com/AZ/ASU_comments.html
StudentsReview: Positive Review about ASU-Tempe for Business - Management and Administrationhttp://www.studentsreview.com/AZ/ASU_comments.html Study hard and take the initiative. At a large research university you have to be 100% invested in what you get out of your education. This includes communicating with your professors and not expectin... Thu, 12 Feb 2015 05:47:04 GMT StudentsReview 80-157317 80-157317 80 7 Business - Management and Administration Male Undergraduate Alumnus Class 2000 Positive Study hard and take the initiative. At a large research university you have to be 100% invested in what you get out of your education. This includes communicating with your professors and not expecting them to come to you if you have a problem. Thu, 12 Feb 2015 05:47:04 GMT http://www.studentsreview.com/AZ/ASU_comments.html