StudentsReview - Arizona State University - Tempe - Life at ASU-Tempe Copyright 2023 StudentsReview, Ecliptical Technologies, Inc. http://www.studentsreview.com/AZ/ASU_comments.html Life at ASU-Tempe - Comments en StudentsReview: Negative Review about ASU-Tempe for Englishhttp://www.studentsreview.com/AZ/ASU_comments.html The English program was a self-absorbed spectacle of progressive manipulation. Several courses touted a non-grading scheme that awarded an A to anyone that turned in garbage. When challenged on thei... Tue, 17 Jan 2023 10:58:00 GMT StudentsReview 80-187983 80-187983 80 17 English Male Undergraduate Class 1922 3rd Year Negative The English program was a self-absorbed spectacle of progressive manipulation. Several courses touted a non-grading scheme that awarded an A to anyone that turned in garbage. When challenged on their socialistic practices, professors simply hid behind their titles and failed to address the looming questions. I paid for an education and all I walked away feeling like I was shelling out for advanced babysitting.
Last minute class changes were common. After carefully researching a class and its syllabus, a new instructor would be assigned that would alter the focus and outcomes, forcing me to adjust my class load at the last moment. The selection of materials was also questionable. Respectable courses taught from material that had merit and worth. The more liberal instructors chose from such marginalized material that it was hard to follow the trajectory of the course. Incorporating lesser-known works of literature is great, but not at the expense of quality of education.
Students were often afraid to reflect appropriately on the course material. In many of the courses the students exchanged views through third party platforms such as discord. Stories were shared about being demeaned, talked down to, and viewpoints pushed aside when not agreeing with the ?correct? opinions of the professors. Often times students were accused of being political, intolerant, or prejudiced when attempting to state a position. Students who agreed with the professor?s stances were highlighted, praised, and defended. We quickly learned that in the classes that had grades, we should simply write what they want to hear.
There were a few great professors, but they were a rarity. The ones that I can personally recall as being respectable retired halfway through the program or left for other institutions. I completed my undergraduate degree, and quickly found a different graduate school. Sadly, I can only recommend the ASU English department to persons that are closely aligned with their current political agenda.
Tue, 17 Jan 2023 10:58:00 GMT http://www.studentsreview.com/AZ/ASU_comments.html
StudentsReview: Negative Review about ASU-Tempe for Computer Engineeringhttp://www.studentsreview.com/AZ/ASU_comments.html The school does not care for their students AT ALL. Outside of a select few people, the faculty (from the professors to the advisors) are not interested in helping students. The advisors are wrong con... Sun, 29 Nov 2020 11:09:36 GMT StudentsReview 80-186578 80-186578 80 11 Computer Engineering Male Undergraduate Class 1920 4th Year Negative The school does not care for their students AT ALL. Outside of a select few people, the faculty (from the professors to the advisors) are not interested in helping students. The advisors are wrong constantly and will extend your schooling by messing up your major map. The school will change professors, leaving you stuck with unqualified professors who do not begin to understand the concepts well enough to teach it.
The majority of classes are regurgitation based, and the professors will provide countless busy work to keep students swimming in work. The university also does not care about bad professors, leaving students with professors who are arrogant, condescending, unqualified, or all of the above.
Sun, 29 Nov 2020 11:09:36 GMT http://www.studentsreview.com/AZ/ASU_comments.html
StudentsReview: Negative Review about ASU-Tempe for Unknownhttp://www.studentsreview.com/AZ/ASU_comments.html This school is just money hungry. The department that it is run by are just horrible and mean. Why would anyone be part of a school that does not care for their student's well being. It is outrageous ... Mon, 12 Oct 2020 11:13:02 GMT StudentsReview 80-186525 80-186525 80 0 Unknown Male Undergraduate Class 2000 Negative This school is just money hungry. The department that it is run by are just horrible and mean. Why would anyone be part of a school that does not care for their student's well being. It is outrageous and sad to see that staff member do not care.I used to love ASU now I cannot wait to graduate from this dump. They probably treat the teachers terribly too. No lack of compassion and the services are horrible. STAY AWAY Mon, 12 Oct 2020 11:13:02 GMT http://www.studentsreview.com/AZ/ASU_comments.html StudentsReview: Negative Review about ASU-Tempe for Otherhttp://www.studentsreview.com/AZ/ASU_comments.html ASU has become a for profit pretending to be a not for profit. Tuition is set just high enough to pay for it by maxing out your student loans. Refund policies are challenging and it's impossible to ge... Sat, 17 Sep 2016 01:08:50 GMT StudentsReview 80-175693 80-175693 80 53 Other Female Undergraduate Class 2019 3rd Year Negative ASU has become a for profit pretending to be a not for profit. Tuition is set just high enough to pay for it by maxing out your student loans. Refund policies are challenging and it's impossible to get a straight answer on anything from the financial aid department.
Also they go on a semester system but divide it into 2 giving each class 7.5 weeks. That's okay for some classes, but in many such as statistics and calculus as well as computer programming, you will be expected to put in 30 hours per week of work. The major problem with this is that this program is marketed towards working adults, yet you are expected to put in 60 hours per week of studying. If you find that the work load was not what you could handle, you must drop your class within the first week or still be responsible for paying the full tuition.
Sat, 17 Sep 2016 01:08:50 GMT http://www.studentsreview.com/AZ/ASU_comments.html
StudentsReview: Neutral Review about ASU-Tempe for Otherhttp://www.studentsreview.com/AZ/ASU_comments.html I really like to think that ASU has a great philosophy in terms of enrollment. The high acceptance rate ensures many people get to go to school when they normally wouldn't have the opportunity. After ... Sat, 10 Oct 2015 09:12:38 GMT StudentsReview 80-171223 80-171223 80 53 Other Female Undergraduate Class 2019 1st Year Neutral I really like to think that ASU has a great philosophy in terms of enrollment. The high acceptance rate ensures many people get to go to school when they normally wouldn't have the opportunity. After all, you can never really know someones background or why they did poorly in high school. However receiving a quality, worthwhile education can be difficult; it will take a lot more than just going to class and getting 'good' grades.
An ASU degree alone will not get you too far. You will have to work very hard and get onto research programs, join many clubs and reach out for a considerable amount of internships.
The social scene at ASU will give anyone anxiety. Greek life dominates and is very judgmental and shallow. Not everyone involved in a sorority/frat is that way but a whole lot are. The greek life has set standards for behavior and anyone who deviates from 'the norm' will face a certain extent of social isolation.
With that being said, ASU is still one of the biggest schools in America. A ton of people go here so in theory anyone should be able to make friends. Some people will just have to search a little harder to find their group.
If you're an out of state kid who either couldn't get in anywhere else, or got the most economical deal out of this school I seriously recommend you take a different path. Maybe consider joining the americorps for a year and/or go to community college. If you build up your resume and are able to pull up your grades with a local affordable school you will have so many more options.
I just transferred to a considerably more 'academic' school (UNC) and I am in awe about how much nicer and more accepting people are. In high school I never had trouble making friends, at ASU I was very isolated and even bullied. I don't want to use my one negative experience to down talk a school, but I really want prospective students to know that ASU can be a very lonely place.
As far as academics go if you really don't have to put in much effort, just do your work. Even if you half ass every assignment and only study a little bit you will still pass with at least a C+.
Sat, 10 Oct 2015 09:12:38 GMT http://www.studentsreview.com/AZ/ASU_comments.html