StudentsReview - Duke University - Life at Duke Copyright 2016 StudentsReview, Ecliptical Technologies, Inc. http://www.studentsreview.com/NC/DU_comments.html Life at Duke - Comments en StudentsReview: Positive Review about Duke for Mathhttp://www.studentsreview.com/NC/DU_comments.html Most amazing experience of my life. Great student body, schools spirit and great academics. Teachers are friendly and approachable. Students spirit is very high and everyone loves the basketball team.... Mon, 05 Sep 2016 12:14:13 GMT StudentsReview 803-175439 803-175439 803 23 Math Male Undergraduate Class 2010 4th Year Positive Most amazing experience of my life. Great student body, schools spirit and great academics. Teachers are friendly and approachable. Students spirit is very high and everyone loves the basketball team. Mon, 05 Sep 2016 12:14:13 GMT http://www.studentsreview.com/NC/DU_comments.html StudentsReview: Neutral Review about Duke for Public Policyhttp://www.studentsreview.com/NC/DU_comments.html Academically, Duke is an excellent choice. Faculty are amazing and there are many paid opportunities to participate in research alongside professors. However, socially Duke is awkward. For the most ... Thu, 25 Aug 2016 05:51:04 GMT StudentsReview 803-175211 803-175211 803 65 Public Policy Male Undergraduate Class 2016 4th Year Neutral Academically, Duke is an excellent choice. Faculty are amazing and there are many paid opportunities to participate in research alongside professors. However, socially Duke is awkward. For the most part students are mainstream (relatively plain, rule-bound, suburban, upper middle class, mall-type kids) who aren't very interesting or creative. While there are definitely exceptions, students come across as immature, overly driven and selfish - sort of the way they are characterized by the Duke basketball haters. What is particularly interesting from my vantage point is that most of my peers didn't seem to grow or change much over the course of four years. Most stuck with the same friends and pursued the same ideas and career choices during all 4 years. Students are required to live on campus for their first three years and tend to socialize in homogenous (racial and socioeconomically segregated) groups, and that may contribute to stunted development. A significant percentage of Duke graduates go on to work in finance or consulting. If that is your goal Duke is probably a good bet.

There is a housing model that Duke is working to improve. I wasn't in to Greek life so I didn't have a real place to call home or a well-defined set of friendships. This was amplified by the fact that the campus was so torn apart for construction during the 4 years I attended; at times it was challenging to even find places to eat. Hopefully, that will resolve over the next couple of years. Rather than transfer I ended up studying abroad during several semesters, and that turned out to be a great decision.

If you hope to attend Duke make sure you know what you are getting in to before signing on. For some of us it turns out to be a big debt load. However, academically, it seems like most students are satisfied and the school prepared me well for my post-graduate life. Despite my gripes, Duke will always hold a special place in my memory.

Durham is an amazing town with friendly residents. Don't let crime scare you away, but remain vigilant on and off campus. Living in the south was a real opportunity to explore an interesting and vibrant area of the country.
Thu, 25 Aug 2016 05:51:04 GMT http://www.studentsreview.com/NC/DU_comments.html
StudentsReview: Positive Review about Duke for Mathhttp://www.studentsreview.com/NC/DU_comments.html Probably the best life experience anyone could have. Great academics with a great social life. Alumni network is great and the school administration cares about undergraduate education. Went to two ot... Sun, 01 Feb 2015 07:27:28 GMT StudentsReview 803-156970 803-156970 803 23 Math Male Undergraduate Alumnus Class 2000 Positive Probably the best life experience anyone could have. Great academics with a great social life. Alumni network is great and the school administration cares about undergraduate education. Went to two other top 10 rated universities (graduate work) but nothing compared to Duke in terms of teacher involvement and overall experience. Would not consider going anywhere else, AWESOME EXPERIENCE ALL AROUND Sun, 01 Feb 2015 07:27:28 GMT http://www.studentsreview.com/NC/DU_comments.html StudentsReview: Neutral Review about Duke for Undecidedhttp://www.studentsreview.com/NC/DU_comments.html Duke is an amazing school. It will challenge you, but in a way that fosters intellectual growth. There is a great sense of community, and I wouldn't trade my Duke experience for anything.... Mon, 27 Oct 2014 07:31:11 GMT StudentsReview 803-152263 803-152263 803 52 Undecided Male Undergraduate Class 2018 1st Year Neutral Duke is an amazing school. It will challenge you, but in a way that fosters intellectual growth. There is a great sense of community, and I wouldn't trade my Duke experience for anything. Mon, 27 Oct 2014 07:31:11 GMT http://www.studentsreview.com/NC/DU_comments.html StudentsReview: Negative Review about Duke for Unknownhttp://www.studentsreview.com/NC/DU_comments.html Spent a year here and transferred out. Best decision I've ever made. The academics were top-notch -- professors were hands-on and engaged with students. The social scene was abysmal - very dependent o... Wed, 09 Jul 2014 10:12:26 GMT StudentsReview 803-113468 803-113468 803 0 Unknown Female Undergraduate Class 2012 1st Year Negative Spent a year here and transferred out. Best decision I've ever made. The academics were top-notch -- professors were hands-on and engaged with students. The social scene was abysmal - very dependent on fraternities/sororities and selective living groups (co-ed social groups). Social events after first semester are closed off to people not affiliated with these groups. I've spoken with independent friends who remained at Duke and many of them expressed similar sentiments. On the whole, a great experience academically, but the lack of social programming for independents was disappointing. Wed, 09 Jul 2014 10:12:26 GMT http://www.studentsreview.com/NC/DU_comments.html