StudentsReview - The University of North Dakota - Life at UND Copyright 2021 StudentsReview, Ecliptical Technologies, Inc. http://www.studentsreview.com/ND/UND_comments.html Life at UND - Comments en StudentsReview: Negative Review about UND for Otherhttp://www.studentsreview.com/ND/UND_comments.html Three years into the aviation program getting a multi engine rating now - 80000 dollars in debt. Since girls are only 25% of the aviation students I feel out of place all the time even though I?m a mo... Fri, 25 Sep 2020 09:03:59 GMT StudentsReview 841-186508 841-186508 841 53 Other Male Undergraduate Class 2000 Negative Three years into the aviation program getting a multi engine rating now - 80000 dollars in debt. Since girls are only 25% of the aviation students I feel out of place all the time even though I?m a more experienced student - some of the stage pilots (girls and guys) are way harsher with girls and sometimes yell at them during a check ride (trust me, it?s happened to me and several of my girl friends). You?re treated like a number and the entire program is rote memorization requiring no critical thinking or creativity. RETHINK YOUR LIFE if you are considering going here. The first weekend I moved in freshman year, my parents and I passed a frat house in our car with a giant poster hanging from the deck saying ?she called you daddy for 18 years, now it?s our turn?. In the aviation department itself, there is ZERO diversity. Right now there are two black girls in the program and a few black guys. Other than that and the international student, EVERYONE else is white and close minded. I was at a scholarship banquet and the DEAN OF AEROSPACE said in front of everyone (international students from Asia, middle east, and students from all over the US), ?okay, now everyone bow your heads and pray to God?. That is how you know you?re in the middle of nowhere and in a bubble. I?m queer and was out in high school, but would NEVER be out of the closet up here. This is the most close minded school (especially aerospace) you will ever see. Fri, 25 Sep 2020 09:03:59 GMT http://www.studentsreview.com/ND/UND_comments.html StudentsReview: Negative Review about UND for Language - French/Spanish/etc.http://www.studentsreview.com/ND/UND_comments.html I enjoyed the area, I liked most of the support staff, fellow students were far friendlier than average and my campus job was an excellent experience. I did not enjoy the folks who promised a tuition ... Sun, 23 Aug 2020 08:34:25 GMT StudentsReview 841-186463 841-186463 841 22 Language - French/Spanish/etc. Male Undergraduate Class 2017 3rd Year Negative I enjoyed the area, I liked most of the support staff, fellow students were far friendlier than average and my campus job was an excellent experience. I did not enjoy the folks who promised a tuition assistance package but rescinded it without warning after I committed and moved to North Dakota from the East Coast.

The vast majority of my professors were absolutely wonderful, but two in particular were some of the most awful people I have met in my life and have driven me into being a far more aggressive person (not in a good way) because of their positions in their respective departments; I am working on moving past this and returning to my old cheery self.

The coursework was breezy, and homework was light. If it had not cost me 50k more than I was promised, I would have a neutral view of this university - friendly and enjoyable but a bit too carefree and overmarketed - but instead I consider it an expensive mistake.
Sun, 23 Aug 2020 08:34:25 GMT http://www.studentsreview.com/ND/UND_comments.html
StudentsReview: Negative Review about UND for Aerospace Engineeringhttp://www.studentsreview.com/ND/UND_comments.html My review will be short, but I have to agree with most of the previous reviews about this university. The weather truly is depressing, and it reflects on everyone?s mood. Racism it?s also something th... Sat, 08 Aug 2020 05:59:57 GMT StudentsReview 841-186445 841-186445 841 2 Aerospace Engineering Male Undergraduate Class 2018 4th Year Negative My review will be short, but I have to agree with most of the previous reviews about this university. The weather truly is depressing, and it reflects on everyone?s mood. Racism it?s also something they should be ashamed of. I am as white as white bread, and there were instances where I would be embarrassed about comments that were made towards minorities. If I were an minority I would tell these people to shove their school where the sun don?t shine. The worst part was when you saw the skinhead Ne?n-nazis having lunch at the student union?s cafeteria. Way to go North Dakota. Your college years should be fun. The University of North Dakota is a depressing place. Sat, 08 Aug 2020 05:59:57 GMT http://www.studentsreview.com/ND/UND_comments.html StudentsReview: Negative Review about UND for Otherhttp://www.studentsreview.com/ND/UND_comments.html Stay away from aviation I was a commercial aviation major from 2007-2011. I graduated and didnt get a job from the college as a flight instructor. They do not gaurantee flight instructor jobs, even a... Tue, 09 May 2017 09:46:06 GMT StudentsReview 841-179763 841-179763 841 53 Other Male Undergraduate Alumnus Class 2000 Negative Stay away from aviation
I was a commercial aviation major from 2007-2011. I graduated and didnt get a job from the college as a flight instructor. They do not gaurantee flight instructor jobs, even after youve paid them 150,000 in flight instruction costs. I currently do not fly because most pilots at the regionals and majors are military pilots anyway. It is a very competitive profession and contrary to what they say, there are plenty of pilots out there. Be very wary of this flight school. You may consider going to a 2 yr school instead, or picking a different 4 yr degree. Aviation costed me hundreds of thousands of dollars and is not what I currently do for a living. Do you think you can compete with a multi million dollar tax paid military pilot? If yes, then by all means jump in, but you may be living out of hotels and working for a regional for a long time.
Tue, 09 May 2017 09:46:06 GMT http://www.studentsreview.com/ND/UND_comments.html
StudentsReview: Negative Review about UND for Otherhttp://www.studentsreview.com/ND/UND_comments.html After a year in the aviation program, I am transferring to another school with a lot more debt than expected. The weather is just awful, causing delays in flight training, which in turn hurts your gro... Fri, 05 May 2017 01:41:30 GMT StudentsReview 841-179724 841-179724 841 53 Other Male Undergraduate Class 2000 Negative After a year in the aviation program, I am transferring to another school with a lot more debt than expected. The weather is just awful, causing delays in flight training, which in turn hurts your ground school grade if you don't finish by the time they give you. Why they put a flight school here I don't know. I will never recommend this school to anyone. Fri, 05 May 2017 01:41:30 GMT http://www.studentsreview.com/ND/UND_comments.html