StudentsReview - The New Jersey Institute of Technology - Life at NJIT Copyright 2024 StudentsReview, Ecliptical Technologies, Inc. http://www.studentsreview.com/NJ/NJIT_comments.html Life at NJIT - Comments en StudentsReview: Neutral Review about NJIT for Design Arts - Industrial Design/Graphic Design/etchttp://www.studentsreview.com/NJ/NJIT_comments.html Pro -excellent school for hard workers -people are nice like a family -They like hard workers -fantastic Humanities program -great food places -really nice people Con - A lot of WEIRD young me... Sat, 21 Mar 2020 01:42:01 GMT StudentsReview 887-186080 887-186080 887 14 Design Arts - Industrial Design/Graphic Design/etc Female Undergraduate Class 1923 1st Year Neutral Pro
-excellent school for hard workers
-people are nice like a family
-They like hard workers
-fantastic Humanities program
-great food places
-really nice people
Con
- A lot of WEIRD young men. If you are a young lady going to NJIT beware of some of the CREEPY men! because they are there.
-crackheads in the city...
-The school doesn't care about Title 9... they'll put posters up about it.( only if you get raped then its a big problem)
-some fake people
-
They don't care that much about people..
Sat, 21 Mar 2020 01:42:01 GMT http://www.studentsreview.com/NJ/NJIT_comments.html
StudentsReview: Negative Review about NJIT for Architecturehttp://www.studentsreview.com/NJ/NJIT_comments.html Avoid the School of Architecture at NJIT at all costs. This place is a nightmare from the top down. Adjuncts stay for a semester of two, wreak havoc on your soul and then leave. I would not be surp... Tue, 12 Nov 2019 10:45:31 GMT StudentsReview 887-185747 887-185747 887 3 Architecture Male Undergraduate Class 2000 Negative Avoid the School of Architecture at NJIT at all costs. This place is a nightmare from the top down. Adjuncts stay for a semester of two, wreak havoc on your soul and then leave. I would not be surprised if this place looses its accreditation. Tue, 12 Nov 2019 10:45:31 GMT http://www.studentsreview.com/NJ/NJIT_comments.html StudentsReview: Neutral Review about NJIT for Computer Sciencehttp://www.studentsreview.com/NJ/NJIT_comments.html There are some good professors at NJIT, most of them are not in the STEM departments. So in advance I apologize to those that are actually good. On the other hand NJIT has everything backwards. There ... Tue, 17 May 2016 11:55:13 GMT StudentsReview 887-173600 887-173600 887 12 Computer Science Male Undergraduate Class 2016 2nd Year Neutral There are some good professors at NJIT, most of them are not in the STEM departments. So in advance I apologize to those that are actually good. On the other hand NJIT has everything backwards. There was very little help in my area of study once you are in the upper level classes. I had a professor once tell me that "I get what I pay for when I went for helper". He even went as far as to say that this is not an "ivy league school". So there is evidence of how helpful the professors are in the CS department. Well at least the one that I went to for help. Again there are good professors but one bad apple does spoil the bunch. The computer science courses lack the capacity for the number of students that are currently enrolled, or they refuse to spend money on accommodating the student needs. For example in a class of about 80 students there was no TA, yet NJIT is building a 100 million dollar athletic stadium; NJIT is not a sports school nor should they try to be. That alone should tell you what the current leadership at NJIT is emphasizing for their future, "2020 VISION". Tue, 17 May 2016 11:55:13 GMT http://www.studentsreview.com/NJ/NJIT_comments.html StudentsReview: Negative Review about NJIT for Chemical Engineeringhttp://www.studentsreview.com/NJ/NJIT_comments.html Newark is Dangerous. Around Campus is Dangerous. Faculty for the most is made up of what appears to be an attempt at an inner city employment program, most are rude and lazy. The students come ... Fri, 26 Feb 2016 05:51:04 GMT StudentsReview 887-172890 887-172890 887 8 Chemical Engineering Male Undergraduate Class 2000 Negative Newark is Dangerous. Around Campus is Dangerous. Faculty for the most is made up of what appears to be an attempt at an inner city employment program, most are rude and lazy. The students come last at NJIT.

Food is inedible anywhere on campus. Cheating runs rampant and nobody cares. Very little support after graduating. Very little real research going on. Professors need to fight for small amounts of restricted funding. Labs are antiquated. Buildings are falling apart. They had a job fair the other day and in order to get in you needed to jump over a large puddle. This is just an example of how much NJIT staff cares about something that should be considered important. Fees are outrageous, they have a failing sports program that the students pay for in its entirety. There is no on campus social life and its a bit dangerous to go out elsewhere in the city.
If you complain to admin, they will turn the tables on you and threaten you with something. Lazy and Rude and unqualified staff.
Fri, 26 Feb 2016 05:51:04 GMT http://www.studentsreview.com/NJ/NJIT_comments.html
StudentsReview: Negative Review about NJIT for Civil Engineeringhttp://www.studentsreview.com/NJ/NJIT_comments.html NJIT, is a good school but head the following warnings: The Math Department does a poor job at teaching students. They set you up for failure no matter how bright you are. Not everyone lives on campus... Wed, 18 Nov 2015 04:01:29 GMT StudentsReview 887-171775 887-171775 887 10 Civil Engineering Female Undergraduate Class 2018 4th Year Negative NJIT, is a good school but head the following warnings: The Math Department does a poor job at teaching students. They set you up for failure no matter how bright you are. Not everyone lives on campus and only goes to school, most student work and they don't realize that. The professors don't clarify, they work on the board like robots and expect you to remember junior high school basics (sometimes clarifying would be helpful, hey I forget sometimes). instead they get annoyed when you ask questions. A lot of professors have an accent and i have a hard time understanding. And worst of all the commons are horrible. they don't test you on your understanding, instead they test you on you trigonometry ability (which you probably wont use ever). I've taken math courses at other colleges and actually learned the methods and applications instead of worried about studying remembering my trig identities during the exam. Also the for CE the advisers are good, but some other departments the faculty is unhelpful- no one never has the ability to resolve anything, you go in a million circles and nothing gets done. I've taken 3 failing grades because of simple clerical or misunderstandings (should've been withdraws and incomplete), but instead they were F because the faculty has no idea on who has the power to do what. Very frustrating! Wed, 18 Nov 2015 04:01:29 GMT http://www.studentsreview.com/NJ/NJIT_comments.html