StudentsReview - Adelphi University - Life at ADUhttp://www.studentsreview.com/NY/ADU_comments.html Life at ADU - Comments en StudentsReview: Positive Review about ADU for Business - Management and Administrationhttp://www.studentsreview.com/NY/ADU_comments.html Overall I have enjoyed my start as a business student at Adelphi... first off, the campus is beautiful and very well maintained. Recreational and theatre facilities are top notch. A majority of the pr... Sat, 26 Oct 2013 10:49:16 GMT StudentsReview 912-96721 Copyright 2014 StudentsReview, Ecliptical Technologies, Inc. 912-96721 912 7 Business - Management and Administration Male Undergraduate Class 2017 1st Year Positive Overall I have enjoyed my start as a business student at Adelphi... first off, the campus is beautiful and very well maintained. Recreational and theatre facilities are top notch. A majority of the professors seem to know what theyre doing and I think the course load is reasonable. In addition, the food is decent and you have a few different dining options.

With all that said... the social life.... well yeah not too great. A good portion of residents leave for the weekends. So if you don't come from around the area you may feel trapped. Basically there is no *on campus* social life. The university does make an honest attempt to make suggestions, sell discounted tickets to events off campus and host an occasional event on campus. The fact is there is no wild crazy college party environment here. If you enjoy some peace and quiet like I do then you may not mind it as much. But if you do want a big social life, you can make it happen you just have to meet people who also want one. The immediate surrounding area is very upscale and nice, and there is plenty to do within driving distance.

There are a wide variety of students here. Some students clearly come from money, while others don't. Don't be surprised when you see students pulling in with luxury cars. The student population is very diverse and so far I have found everyone to be very accepting and open.
Sat, 26 Oct 2013 10:49:16 GMT http://www.studentsreview.com/NY/ADU_comments.html
StudentsReview: Negative Review about ADU for Biologyhttp://www.studentsreview.com/NY/ADU_comments.html I wish I had done better in high school so I could have gone to a school with a real science program. The lads are in sorry shape and the instruction is traditional, lecture. There is lots of support ... Sat, 07 Sep 2013 02:54:08 GMT StudentsReview 912-95773 Copyright 2014 StudentsReview, Ecliptical Technologies, Inc. 912-95773 912 6 Biology Female Undergraduate Class 2018 2nd Year Negative I wish I had done better in high school so I could have gone to a school with a real science program. The lads are in sorry shape and the instruction is traditional, lecture. There is lots of support available because many of the students need it. The campus is like a ghost town. Sat, 07 Sep 2013 02:54:08 GMT http://www.studentsreview.com/NY/ADU_comments.html StudentsReview: Negative Review about ADU for Otherhttp://www.studentsreview.com/NY/ADU_comments.html I don't quite understand their "Best Buy College" status. It's really expensive, even with some sort of academic or talent scholarship. Perhaps if you're a Nursing or Education student, you'll be set,... Mon, 05 Aug 2013 11:00:36 GMT StudentsReview 912-95181 Copyright 2014 StudentsReview, Ecliptical Technologies, Inc. 912-95181 912 53 Other Female Undergraduate Class 2014 3rd Year Negative I don't quite understand their "Best Buy College" status. It's really expensive, even with some sort of academic or talent scholarship. Perhaps if you're a Nursing or Education student, you'll be set, but if you're in the arts of any kind, connections and career planning are limited. Professors are proficient-- very few wonderful, most bland and average, and yes, a few are quite awful. Class sizes are small, which seems great at first, but after a while, often times, I feel like I'm back in high school.

The campus is quite pretty. Lots of trees, flowers, decorations, etc. But Public Safety, while keeping things "safe", are a little over-zealous, a little power-hungery, and a little bit rude. The food gets to be annoying. The buffet dining hall is a crapshoot, mostly a losing game mid/end of semester. The UC is limiting in their food choices, and always crowded during the day, mostly because commuter students can access it easy.

Student body, on a whole, is made up of snooty, arrogant girls without much financial hardship, and frat boys of little intellect, common sense, or manners. I'm not a Greek life type of person, so I don't regret not joining a frat, but if you want to be constantly busy and involved, you probably should join one. The campus becomes deserted at five o'clock-- even on weekdays-- so much that you can't get a bite to eat on campus after 9:30.

Residence halls are mediocre. Rooms are somewhat big-- bigger than other dorm rooms I've seen, so I'll give them that. But the facilities often are in need of fixing (water, heat, etc.), particularly in older dorm buildings.

This is certainly not a party school, which is fine-- but it's not even a slumber/study party school. Having guests over past 6 pm who are students that don't live in your hall is an ordeal. It almost seems discouraged. And of course, alcoholism is a big problem with college students, but the "dry campus"/"dry residence hall" policy ought to be rethought. Not taken away, but rethought. (Perhaps because I'm not under 21 anymore, I'm more persnickety about this.) If Adelphi sponsored some really terrifically fun things to do that didn't involve forking out $30 extra for participation, perhaps their problems with guests, etc. would be valid. But that's not the case. If you want to see people, friends, etc., you have no choice but to meet up together in rooms, lounges, etc.

It's a pretty looking school. They sell that in ads, on the website, etc. And it's close to NYC. But if you're passionate about the arts, about literature, or even about business, you're probably better off IN NYC (NYU, etc.) should you get accepted to a college in the city.
Mon, 05 Aug 2013 11:00:36 GMT http://www.studentsreview.com/NY/ADU_comments.html
StudentsReview: Neutral Review about ADU for Biologyhttp://www.studentsreview.com/NY/ADU_comments.html If you are a pre-med/dental/opt student, do not rely on the pre-professional advisement or career office. I really felt that they could have been more useful in terms of providing information about op... Thu, 23 May 2013 08:30:21 GMT StudentsReview 912-94056 Copyright 2014 StudentsReview, Ecliptical Technologies, Inc. 912-94056 912 6 Biology Female Undergraduate Alumna Class 2000 Neutral If you are a pre-med/dental/opt student, do not rely on the pre-professional advisement or career office. I really felt that they could have been more useful in terms of providing information about opportunities outside of school, but I guess I expected too much with the amount of tuition I paid. They will give you little to no feedback, and tell you things that could have been found out from a basic web search (research, internships, continuing education).

You're basically on your own once you graduate, so make sure you have your healthcare/research experience taken care of before applying to med school or etc. The faculty members are helpful and friendly for the most part, but it really is up to you if you want to seek out research opportunities in their department. If you stay self-motivated, you will be fine.
Thu, 23 May 2013 08:30:21 GMT http://www.studentsreview.com/NY/ADU_comments.html
StudentsReview: Negative Review about ADU for Nursinghttp://www.studentsreview.com/NY/ADU_comments.html Okay this is basically a rant because im sick of this school. I went to take a shower this morning and surprise no hot water, im not talking like cold water that ti can quickly take a shower in im tal... Mon, 18 Mar 2013 01:04:54 GMT StudentsReview 912-92622 Copyright 2014 StudentsReview, Ecliptical Technologies, Inc. 912-92622 912 30 Nursing Male Undergraduate Class 2000 Negative Okay this is basically a rant because im sick of this school. I went to take a shower this morning and surprise no hot water, im not talking like cold water that ti can quickly take a shower in im talking about ice cold freeeeeezing water. This is the fifth time this has happend to me at this school and i constatnly get e mails about water and heat shut down in other halls. I dont understand if i am paying so much money to go here how hard it can be to fix a heater. They shut down both hot water and heat all spring break to "fix" this problem and not even a full week later its broken again. This is ridiculous. I am in the process of transferring and it has been the best decision i have made in my entire life. if you are thinking of going here and want to spend four years taking cold showers freezing you ass off at night because your heat doesn't work, or eating disgusting food good luck. Mon, 18 Mar 2013 01:04:54 GMT http://www.studentsreview.com/NY/ADU_comments.html