StudentsReview - The City University of New York Bernard M Baruch College - Life at CUNY/BMB Copyright 2021 StudentsReview, Ecliptical Technologies, Inc. http://www.studentsreview.com/NY/CUNYBAC_comments.html Life at CUNY/BMB - Comments en StudentsReview: Positive Review about CUNY/BMB for Accountinghttp://www.studentsreview.com/NY/CUNYBAC_comments.html It is shocking to read some of the negative comments, which I think is wrong. Baruch had a very strong program in accounting and business. The older I get and the more people that I meet have empha... Thu, 13 Feb 2020 03:10:32 GMT StudentsReview 923-185976 923-185976 923 1 Accounting Male Undergraduate Alumnus Class 2000 Positive It is shocking to read some of the negative comments, which I think is wrong.

Baruch had a very strong program in accounting and business. The older I get and the more people that I meet have emphasized this point. It really provided a great education.

It also had a great reputation in the field. I have never had a problem getting a job. There is a huge, successful alumni network. Yes, it is a commuter school. Yes, you may not get the traditional college education that you might get when staying in a dorm. However, the educational experience, especially for the money, was exceptional. I have met a number of people who attended more expensive schools such as NYU and PACE and many had large student loans that I didn't need. Trust me, I haven't met anyone in my life that liked having large student loans!!!

The key to getting the real benefit from Baruch is to study hard!! Getting top grades is very important and doable if you work hard. I never got rejected from a job that I applied for. I got into a top law school and did very well in my career. However, I don't think I would have achieved the same level of success if my grades were mediocre. Work Hard!! I can't emphasize this enough.
Thu, 13 Feb 2020 03:10:32 GMT http://www.studentsreview.com/NY/CUNYBAC_comments.html
StudentsReview: Advice Review about CUNY/BMB for Otherhttp://www.studentsreview.com/NY/CUNYBAC_comments.html Undergrad prepared me for the real world more so than grad school. I've been employed for almost 8 years since undergrad and going to grad school was, to me, another education to list on the resume. I... Thu, 10 Mar 2016 04:18:09 GMT StudentsReview 923-172984 923-172984 923 53 Other Female Undergraduate Alumna Class 2000 Advice Undergrad prepared me for the real world more so than grad school. I've been employed for almost 8 years since undergrad and going to grad school was, to me, another education to list on the resume. If I can use it, I will. But Baruch is an alright school money wise. They seem to focus more on the undergrads than grads since almost every career fair or info session was held during the morning or afternoon. If you work full time and attend grad evening classes, you can't always miss work. Some professors are interesting, provide a learning environment and others shouldn't be in the classroom. The school didn't always provide basic services such as having soap/bath tissue, working elevators and escalators as well as functional desks/chairs. Price wise, it's cheap/affordable but if you can afford to go to a better school, go to it. Thu, 10 Mar 2016 04:18:09 GMT http://www.studentsreview.com/NY/CUNYBAC_comments.html StudentsReview: Negative Review about CUNY/BMB for Journalismhttp://www.studentsreview.com/NY/CUNYBAC_comments.html If you don't major in any kind of business program then this school is awful. There is no such thing as a student life, and the frat boys that go to Baruch College killed another student (Michael Deng... Fri, 21 Feb 2014 11:17:54 GMT StudentsReview 923-101821 923-101821 923 20 Journalism Male Undergraduate Class 2015 3rd Year Negative If you don't major in any kind of business program then this school is awful. There is no such thing as a student life, and the frat boys that go to Baruch College killed another student (Michael Deng) so you could say that the students who participate in what little student life there is are horrible human beings. There's no campus, food is awful, the administration is awful, the Weissman school of Arts and Sciences is awful and half-assed. The inside of the campus looks like a scene from Prison Break.

But all of that seems tolerable in comparison to the Journalism Department. I thought that their program would be decent since Baruch College claims to be the best CUNY, but I was wrong. All of the professors that teach journalism at Baruch College either never had teaching experience or have never taken a course in journalism (meaning they don't know anything about journalism), most of them are horrible. Especially Professor Carl Rollyson?he's a really old man that's written 40 irrelevant books about biographies and reviews?he has no insight to teaching a journalism course. He once publicly scrutinized a students assignment in front of the whole class, and he did it in such a unprofessional and nasty manner anyone would think he's a horrible person. That student later had a nervous breakdown and left in the middle of class, why did the college hire him as a professor is befuddling (they hired him because he got 40 b.s. reviews & books published not because he can teach.) Carl Rollyson is the worst professor at Baruch College, especially in their english/journalism department.

This school is only okay for business major, and slightly useful for public affairs major, but DO NOT BE FOOLED BE THE RANKINGS.The rankings at Baruch College are deceitful this school runs as well as a DMV during its busiest hours. Non-majors and especially science majors DO NOT APPLY!
Fri, 21 Feb 2014 11:17:54 GMT http://www.studentsreview.com/NY/CUNYBAC_comments.html
StudentsReview: Negative Review about CUNY/BMB for Economicshttp://www.studentsreview.com/NY/CUNYBAC_comments.html Beware students that may have to take the department Calculus 1 and 2 courses 2205- THEY ARE FLAWED. From the textbook itself (written by the head of the math department) with numerous errors includin... Wed, 15 Jan 2014 10:58:22 GMT StudentsReview 923-100193 923-100193 923 57 Economics Male Undergraduate Class 2015 2nd Year Negative Beware students that may have to take the department Calculus 1 and 2 courses 2205- THEY ARE FLAWED. From the textbook itself (written by the head of the math department) with numerous errors including many wrong answers, and other tools provided are insufficient to learn the course material. Myself along with many other students feel betrayed and misled by this particular segment. At least have your course material in sync with your department final, but none of this is present. You will need to know this material prior to entering this school. This is just their way of weeding through students but it is wrong and completely unfair to suddenly raise the bar on a department final without holding your end up to par for those to meet. SOMETHING SERIOUSLY NEEDS TO BE DONE ABOUT THIS BARUCH. Wed, 15 Jan 2014 10:58:22 GMT http://www.studentsreview.com/NY/CUNYBAC_comments.html StudentsReview: Positive Review about CUNY/BMB for Englishhttp://www.studentsreview.com/NY/CUNYBAC_comments.html Baruch College is a great place for an English major. The faculty in the English department are truly dedicated to their discipline and, more importantly, teaching.... Thu, 15 Aug 2013 06:38:02 GMT StudentsReview 923-95331 923-95331 923 17 English Male Undergraduate Class 2011 4th Year Positive Baruch College is a great place for an English major. The faculty in the English department are truly dedicated to their discipline and, more importantly, teaching. Thu, 15 Aug 2013 06:38:02 GMT http://www.studentsreview.com/NY/CUNYBAC_comments.html