StudentsReview - Columbia University in the City of New York - Life at CUICO-New York Copyright 2015 StudentsReview, Ecliptical Technologies, Inc. http://www.studentsreview.com/NY/CU_comments.html Life at CUICO-New York - Comments en StudentsReview: Advice Review about CUICO-New York for Biologyhttp://www.studentsreview.com/NY/CU_comments.html For Sciences people: The Core Curriculum will make or break your experience at Columbia College. If you love the idea of the Core Curriculum (humanities), you'll love Columbia. If you hate the ide... Tue, 18 Aug 2015 06:43:53 GMT StudentsReview 937-169773 937-169773 937 6 Biology Male Undergraduate Class 2016 3rd Year Advice For Sciences people:

The Core Curriculum will make or break your experience at Columbia College. If you love the idea of the Core Curriculum (humanities), you'll love Columbia. If you hate the idea of reading Homer/Nietsche/etc, you'll struggle.

I mean, I love the sciences (Biochemistry major)! However, some of the Core Curriculum classes were my favorite classes I took at Columbia.
Tue, 18 Aug 2015 06:43:53 GMT http://www.studentsreview.com/NY/CU_comments.html
StudentsReview: Neutral Review about CUICO-New York for Political Sciencehttp://www.studentsreview.com/NY/CU_comments.html Its a place for certain kind of people. You have to be a go getter, independent and strong emotionally. You are an adult and you are expected to do your part. Academics are challenging but extremelly ... Tue, 14 Jul 2015 07:26:37 GMT StudentsReview 937-163204 937-163204 937 58 Political Science Male Undergraduate Class 2018 1st Year Neutral Its a place for certain kind of people. You have to be a go getter, independent and strong emotionally. You are an adult and you are expected to do your part. Academics are challenging but extremelly rewarding. Meeting new people is easy in NYC. Too expensive in my opinion but oh well if you know how to use the degree the name, conection and oportunities then its worth it. Tue, 14 Jul 2015 07:26:37 GMT http://www.studentsreview.com/NY/CU_comments.html StudentsReview: Positive Review about CUICO-New York for Economicshttp://www.studentsreview.com/NY/CU_comments.html Columbia offers its students an incredibly challenging environment to learn. The core-- a centerpiece to the experience-- is incredibly enriching. The resources are unparalleled. And the profs are ... Fri, 19 Jun 2015 11:29:26 GMT StudentsReview 937-162490 937-162490 937 57 Economics Male Undergraduate Class 2018 1st Year Positive Columbia offers its students an incredibly challenging environment to learn. The core-- a centerpiece to the experience-- is incredibly enriching. The resources are unparalleled. And the profs are interesting and engaging. Lots' of schools have stimulating environments, but Columbia is truly in a class by itself. Fri, 19 Jun 2015 11:29:26 GMT http://www.studentsreview.com/NY/CU_comments.html StudentsReview: Negative Review about CUICO-New York for Otherhttp://www.studentsreview.com/NY/CU_comments.html Beware of student athletes at Columbia university... the illusion of an Ivy League setting being a place of morality and character is questionable. I found a good number of them to be arrogant, self a... Wed, 12 Nov 2014 02:39:30 GMT StudentsReview 937-153282 937-153282 937 53 Other Female Undergraduate Alumna Class 2000 Negative Beware of student athletes at Columbia university... the illusion of an Ivy League setting being a place of morality and character is questionable. I found a good number of them to be arrogant, self absorbed, rude and obnoxious. I was sexually assaulted by one of the athletes at Columbia University and verbally and physically harassed by a few more. I believe the stories other women have been reporting of rape on this campus. An ex friend of mine, also a student athlete, accused me of being a slut (after I confided in her about the incident) because her friend had a 'thing' for the guy who assaulted me. Columbia is a bubble where they groom students into believing they are special, better than the rest and therefore not responsible for their actions. The perceived 'prestige' that comes with the Columbia name only further disillusions students who believe the hype. Life is more than college, and a name of a university does not prove your worth. Columbia will forever remain a haunting place in my memory. Wed, 12 Nov 2014 02:39:30 GMT http://www.studentsreview.com/NY/CU_comments.html StudentsReview: Negative Review about CUICO-New York for Philosophyhttp://www.studentsreview.com/NY/CU_comments.html In general the professors here are great and I have found a few of my philosophy professors to be extremely brilliant, but the administration really can't be worse that it offsets all the benefits bro... Thu, 18 Sep 2014 06:39:01 GMT StudentsReview 937-131858 937-131858 937 32 Philosophy Male Undergraduate Class 2017 1st Year Negative In general the professors here are great and I have found a few of my philosophy professors to be extremely brilliant, but the administration really can't be worse that it offsets all the benefits brought by the faculty. I never expected to be treated in this way and I am trying my best to work on my transfer app.

If you want to be treated as a person, don't come to Columbia. There is basically no flexibility here and no one really f*cking cares about you. I went to talk to a Dean and he even told me "well then you may choose to leave." WTF seriously how can a dean say this to an enrolled student? You will also frequently hear from your academic advisor(not a professor, just a random administrative person who can't find a better paying job) or some other staff that "this is the rule" or something like that. Well, you know what? "Rules" here are always unreasonable and never flexible.

I can't hate this place more.
Thu, 18 Sep 2014 06:39:01 GMT http://www.studentsreview.com/NY/CU_comments.html