StudentsReview - Dowling College - Life at Dowling Copyright 2022 StudentsReview, Ecliptical Technologies, Inc. http://www.studentsreview.com/NY/DOWC_comments.html Life at Dowling - Comments en StudentsReview: Negative Review about Dowling for Economicshttp://www.studentsreview.com/NY/DOWC_comments.html Just graduated from Dowling with a 4.0 average in Economics. Two really good economics teachers, but besides that the rest of the teachers are basically baby-sitters. One of my teachers I never met,... Sat, 03 Jan 2015 04:34:55 GMT StudentsReview 943-155818 943-155818 943 57 Economics Male Undergraduate Class 2014 2nd Year Negative Just graduated from Dowling with a 4.0 average in Economics. Two really good economics teachers, but besides that the rest of the teachers are basically baby-sitters. One of my teachers I never met, was a last minute stand in from Texas and accepted plagiarized verbatim work from another student. Extremely dissatisfied with the Bursar... only one person there was helpful... the rest you would get 8 different answers as to the amount you owe from 3 different people. They simply don't know math. The school is all about the money, not about the students... at $1000 plus per credit, spend your money elsewhere. As for myself, I transferred the max credits and received 1/2 scholarship and some additional financial aid, so I am satisfied in that regard. Last note: Financial Aid department does not return phone calls... you have to go there in person. Sat, 03 Jan 2015 04:34:55 GMT http://www.studentsreview.com/NY/DOWC_comments.html StudentsReview: Neutral Review about Dowling for Otherhttp://www.studentsreview.com/NY/DOWC_comments.html I decided to go to Dowling because the financial aid package I received was the most competitive. They do not have the best academics but the teachers I have had so far seem to be very nice and willin... Sun, 14 Dec 2014 11:24:11 GMT StudentsReview 943-155153 943-155153 943 53 Other Female Undergraduate Class 2018 1st Year Neutral I decided to go to Dowling because the financial aid package I received was the most competitive. They do not have the best academics but the teachers I have had so far seem to be very nice and willing to work with you. The only complaint I have about Dowling is that it feels like there is no communication between anyone. I have had a hold put on my grades since May but was not notified as to why I couldn't view my grades until a week ago. Also, to apply for work study I was sent to five different people and ultimately none of them returned my phone call. My freshman year, I was told I had placed out of a core requirement during my placement tests and found out later that semester that that wasn't true (thankfully I was able to substitute the course with the help of one of my professors). The website is also very hard to navigate and some staff that I have talked to even agree. If the school could figure out some interdepartmental communication, I would say it was the perfect choice for me but because you have to jump through hoops to get an answer out of anybody.

Overall, Dowling is a great place if you want to find yourself and explore your interests. The social life is much better if you stay on campus for a bit and don't leave immediately after your class is over. People are generally friendly and easy going. If I had to chose again, I would probably make the same choice due to the compelling financial aid offerings and the intimacy of the school. The professors remember your name and are always available to talk to you, whether it is in their office or via e-mail (which most promptly respond). Just don't expect the administrative people to tell you anything before it's too late.
Sun, 14 Dec 2014 11:24:11 GMT http://www.studentsreview.com/NY/DOWC_comments.html
StudentsReview: Positive Review about Dowling for Educationhttp://www.studentsreview.com/NY/DOWC_comments.html So far I am happy with my choice and look forward to the remainder of my education here. The cost is expensive but It's good to be able to be in such a small community.... Tue, 21 Oct 2014 02:11:53 GMT StudentsReview 943-148782 943-148782 943 15 Education Female Undergraduate Class 2017 2nd Year Positive So far I am happy with my choice and look forward to the remainder of my education here. The cost is expensive but It's good to be able to be in such a small community. Tue, 21 Oct 2014 02:11:53 GMT http://www.studentsreview.com/NY/DOWC_comments.html StudentsReview: Neutral Review about Dowling for Accountinghttp://www.studentsreview.com/NY/DOWC_comments.html Beautiful school I look forward to completing my degree here. The grounds are really pretty and a great place to be.... Tue, 21 Oct 2014 12:20:08 GMT StudentsReview 943-148702 943-148702 943 1 Accounting Male Undergraduate Class 2018 1st Year Neutral Beautiful school I look forward to completing my degree here. The grounds are really pretty and a great place to be. Tue, 21 Oct 2014 12:20:08 GMT http://www.studentsreview.com/NY/DOWC_comments.html StudentsReview: Negative Review about Dowling for Geography and Geoscienceshttp://www.studentsreview.com/NY/DOWC_comments.html Classes that are mandatory for degree programs are often cancelled due to lack of enrollment... thus pushing back graduation dates. The enrollment and scheduling process is tedious, requiring student... Tue, 26 Aug 2014 04:13:54 GMT StudentsReview 943-121777 943-121777 943 56 Geography and Geosciences Male Undergraduate Class 2015 1st Year Negative Classes that are mandatory for degree programs are often cancelled due to lack of enrollment... thus pushing back graduation dates.
The enrollment and scheduling process is tedious, requiring students get approval for department heads for classes, including electives.
Many professors want all of their work done online and many classes are spend reviewing material that we had to figure out on our own via the internet workshops.
Tue, 26 Aug 2014 04:13:54 GMT http://www.studentsreview.com/NY/DOWC_comments.html