StudentsReview - Fordham University - Life at FU Copyright 2015 StudentsReview, Ecliptical Technologies, Inc. http://www.studentsreview.com/NY/FU_comments.html Life at FU - Comments en StudentsReview: Advice Review about FU for Psychologyhttp://www.studentsreview.com/NY/FU_comments.html Like any schools, Fordham has some pros and cons that anyone should know before coming here. Pros: beautiful campus in NYC, smart professors at the top of their field, fun off-campus party scene, f... Sat, 28 Mar 2015 04:22:39 GMT StudentsReview 947-158904 947-158904 947 38 Psychology Female Undergraduate Class 2018 1st Year Advice Like any schools, Fordham has some pros and cons that anyone should know before coming here.

Pros: beautiful campus in NYC, smart professors at the top of their field, fun off-campus party scene, friendly student body for the most part, great size (around 8,000 undergraduates)

Cons: the core curriculum, on-campus dining, strict administration and rigid rules, signing up for classes
Sat, 28 Mar 2015 04:22:39 GMT http://www.studentsreview.com/NY/FU_comments.html
StudentsReview: Positive Review about FU for Communicationshttp://www.studentsreview.com/NY/FU_comments.html Fordham University is not for everyone. Just like New York City, no one will hold your hand here. Fordham deflates their grades, so getting all As is extremely difficult, and you will struggle in a co... Fri, 20 Feb 2015 03:36:04 GMT StudentsReview 947-157460 947-157460 947 54 Communications Female Undergraduate Class 2017 1st Year Positive Fordham University is not for everyone. Just like New York City, no one will hold your hand here. Fordham deflates their grades, so getting all As is extremely difficult, and you will struggle in a couple of classes. However, you can still get a good GPA as long as you put some decent effort in to the class; that's what the professors care most about. Good professors have been about 50/50. I quite dislike graduate students as professors, because they usually make the class harder and don't know how to teach properly. I've had some really amazing professors though, which I make sure to take again in the different semesters. The core is extensive and a bit annoying and repetitive from high school, but its fantastic once you get to your major classes.Fordham's Communications program is relevant and interesting once you really delve into your core classes.
The student body consists of what you've basically been reading about: white, upper middle-class kids from the tri-state area. However, I've met many people from California and Texas; some of my best friends are from there. In addition, there are many international students here, composed mostly of people from China but I've met others from France, Russia, and Peru. Although a lot of the people here conform to the norm, you can find diversity and really interesting people if you just search and know what you're looking for. A lot of the students here are very smart; this was not their choice school. A decent amount of people who go to Fordham only enrolled because they could not afford the top-tier schools, because Fordham does offer a great deal of financial aid and scholarships. Most of the student body is attractive, in shape, and looks stylish a good deal of the time. Although sports isn't that big, everyone is always at the gym to make sure they look good and keep active. The campus is always beautiful no matter what time of year. Although it is small and cramped, it takes a very short amount of time to get from place to place, which is helpful for early morning classes and in the winter. Being in New York City is great. There are many ways to get into Manhattan (intercampus shuttle, subway, Metro North) in a short amount of time. There is no excuse for not doing anything on the weekends. It is nice to go into the city from time to time and splurge on expensive food, clothes, or partying. Most of the partying at Rose Hill occurs at our many bars and apartment/house parties. The bars don't care if you're under 21, as long as you're over 18. Alcohol is easy to get, many places don't card and many people have fakes. We don't have any frats or sororities here which I believe is a good thing in my experience. I've been to frat parties and heard all the gossip about sororities, and while it may be great at some schools, Fordham has no cliques here and guys can get into any party regardless of whether you know someone or not. Around 80 percent of people at Fordham drink and go out during the week and weekend; we party a lot and party hard. Weed and cigarettes are the most common drug, but you can find others if you ask around enough. The food here isn't great to be fair. The problem is not the quality but the lack of variety. There are not many places to eat but it's easy to live with. The food off-campus is fantastic. Manhattan always has every type of food you want but the Bronx is great because it's cheaper with great quality. Many restaurants deliver straight to campus and Arthur Avenue always has great sandwich shops, restaurants, and bakeries. Don't be afraid to get involved because it's a great experience and helps keep you busy. I just got a job at RamVan and the newspaper this year and I should have done it last year. It gives you great experience, marketable skills, and you get to meet a lot of new people. The Fordham dorms are similar to all other dorms. While freshman dorms are crowded, the sophomore dorms are much better, and usually come with bathrooms. Juniors and seniors get to live in apartment style dorms complete with bathrooms and kitchens. A lot of people like to live off campus though, especially as an upperclassman. Not only is it cheaper, and bigger, but it is also free of campus rules. Fordham is very strict about catching students drinking and smoking in the dorms; if they see you, you will get into trouble. The residential life policy is also quite annoying, because after 5 in the afternoon you have to sign someone into a dorm if they do not live there, and they have to leave by 3:30 in the morning. If you want someone from a different dorm or from outside of school to be able to stay in the dorm with you, you have to obtain a guest pass at least 24 hours in advance. You cannot have a guest that is a member of the opposite sex, but people usually just get their friends to do it for them. Fordham is very good for networking, especially if you plan to stay in the tri-state area. Fordham offers many internships and workshops to help you prepare for life outside of school.
Fri, 20 Feb 2015 03:36:04 GMT http://www.studentsreview.com/NY/FU_comments.html
StudentsReview: Negative Review about FU for Economicshttp://www.studentsreview.com/NY/FU_comments.html Be mindful that this university's population is made up of people from the tri-state area; mainly Long Island, New Jersey, Yonkers, some Westchester, and most commuters are from the boroughs. That bei... Thu, 08 Jan 2015 10:45:18 GMT StudentsReview 947-156098 947-156098 947 57 Economics Female Undergraduate Class 2016 3rd Year Negative Be mindful that this university's population is made up of people from the tri-state area; mainly Long Island, New Jersey, Yonkers, some Westchester, and most commuters are from the boroughs. That being said, most people SUCK. They are stuck in high school and truly believe that cliques are still essential to life. Most people will pretend to want to hang out outside of class, complain about others not being friendly and how it upsets them, and then flake on you any chance you give them. You will be able to find a small group that is normal, friendly, and not fake - but most of the time people will disappoint you.

Also, just a warning: NEVER TAKE TBA's. You will always get screwed. Always. Fordham may have a plethora of wonderful and lovely professors, but for every handful of great ones there is one horrifying one that will make your semester miserable. The administration refuses to do ANYTHING to help out in those situations even though any normal human being would see the problem. I.e. A professor that teaches a 1 credit class need to calm down and not assign work as if it were a 4 credit class. Additionally, if my grade depends on whether or not my staple is at a 45 degree angle - YOU CLEARLY NEED MENTAL HELP.

Sorry about the long review, but I truly wish someone had warned me thoroughly before I came.
Thu, 08 Jan 2015 10:45:18 GMT http://www.studentsreview.com/NY/FU_comments.html
StudentsReview: Negative Review about FU for Financehttp://www.studentsreview.com/NY/FU_comments.html Fordham University. I have a massive scholarship and thought for a Business major it would be perfect since NYC is just a subway stop away. That's how they sell you the school, truthfully this school ... Tue, 23 Dec 2014 10:48:14 GMT StudentsReview 947-155497 947-155497 947 79 Finance Male Undergraduate Class 2017 2nd Year Negative Fordham University. I have a massive scholarship and thought for a Business major it would be perfect since NYC is just a subway stop away. That's how they sell you the school, truthfully this school will beat you up. Fordham grades on a curve and Fordham also grades on a deflation basis. For instance, my A in my Fall class has been bumped down to a B+ because a lot of people have between a 98-100 and I had closer to a 98. It isn't right but thats in the professor handbook

Fordham will leave even the brightest students with a shit GPA and they don't care. Don't go to Fordham because you'll work hard for a shit GPA and you won't get a good job because of it.
Tue, 23 Dec 2014 10:48:14 GMT http://www.studentsreview.com/NY/FU_comments.html
StudentsReview: Positive Review about FU for Computer Sciencehttp://www.studentsreview.com/NY/FU_comments.html I don't get the Fordham bashing here. If you complain everyone is rude and arrogant, it means you have not looked past your dorm floor. The commuters especially are such an amazing group of people, I ... Wed, 29 Oct 2014 09:58:22 GMT StudentsReview 947-152405 947-152405 947 12 Computer Science Male Undergraduate Class 2018 1st Year Positive I don't get the Fordham bashing here. If you complain everyone is rude and arrogant, it means you have not looked past your dorm floor. The commuters especially are such an amazing group of people, I personally know all of them since i live 10 minutes off campus so I commute. Seriously, talk to us you don't have to be stuck with the jersey shore types. Campus is just stunning, one of the most gorgeous. The Bronx, its kind of bad but use common sense and you will be fine. Fordham is OVERPRICED, do not spend the full 40k. In general however until now they have been generous and for the money im paying I love Fordham. The Common Core is kind of shit but push through it, maybe you will even discover subjects you enjoy. Overall, I love Fordham and would recommend it. Wed, 29 Oct 2014 09:58:22 GMT http://www.studentsreview.com/NY/FU_comments.html