StudentsReview - Marist College - Life at Marist Copyright 2016 StudentsReview, Ecliptical Technologies, Inc. http://www.studentsreview.com/NY/MRC_comments.html Life at Marist - Comments en StudentsReview: Advice Review about Marist for Electrical Engineeringhttp://www.studentsreview.com/NY/MRC_comments.html Completely worthless diploma as far as Engineering goes. Employers laugh at it.... Thu, 10 Sep 2015 03:20:23 GMT StudentsReview 964-170783 964-170783 964 16 Electrical Engineering Male Undergraduate Class 1998 4th Year Advice Completely worthless diploma as far as Engineering goes. Employers laugh at it. Thu, 10 Sep 2015 03:20:23 GMT http://www.studentsreview.com/NY/MRC_comments.html StudentsReview: Negative Review about Marist for Computer Sciencehttp://www.studentsreview.com/NY/MRC_comments.html Don't let a pretty campus fool you, Admissions just shows you the nice parts. Tuition keeps rising to ridiculous rates yet the mediocre professors get more jaded and bored every year. Marist only care... Tue, 18 Aug 2015 11:10:08 GMT StudentsReview 964-169757 964-169757 964 12 Computer Science Male Undergraduate Class 2015 4th Year Negative Don't let a pretty campus fool you, Admissions just shows you the nice parts. Tuition keeps rising to ridiculous rates yet the mediocre professors get more jaded and bored every year. Marist only cares about enticing future students while current ones (especially commuters!) are ignored, e.g.: parking gets more strict every year to accommodate new buildings. They keep accepting more freshmen, downplaying the fact that housing is NOT guaranteed after the second year. Administrative offices are slow, bloated, and bureaucratic. Some buildings (Gartland, Donnelly, Dyson) badly show their age. Sodexo food is very hit-or-miss and badly overpriced ($9 lunches are common), but of course, they bring out the good stuff on parents' weekend. Poughkeepsie is a miserable, crime-ridden "city." Most students go out to bars, school clubs stink because people are only there to get housing "priority points." Tue, 18 Aug 2015 11:10:08 GMT http://www.studentsreview.com/NY/MRC_comments.html StudentsReview: Neutral Review about Marist for Computer Sciencehttp://www.studentsreview.com/NY/MRC_comments.html Marist College was not on my radar when I was applying to college. Upon arrival everything seemed bright for the future here. The freshman orientation program was very good and informative. Kids at th... Mon, 15 Jun 2015 10:29:35 GMT StudentsReview 964-162335 964-162335 964 12 Computer Science Male Undergraduate Class 2017 2nd Year Neutral Marist College was not on my radar when I was applying to college. Upon arrival everything seemed bright for the future here. The freshman orientation program was very good and informative. Kids at the school were very friendly until school started. The typical student is from long island and has plenty of Daddy's money. Coming from a wealthy family of my own i understand the perks of being wealthy but there is no need to make kids feel inferior because they don't have as much as you do. The classes are really good for the most part. If you're a communications major it'll be the best 4 years of your life because the classes are a joke, its mainly busy work and papers. Other majors like math and computer science majors have it really tough. I'm a Computer Science student and an athlete here at Marist. Marist is D1 so the professors are suppose to help coordinate meeting times with you if you are unable to meet during their scheduled office hours because of practice time conflicts. I have never had so much trouble with this. Some professors are extremely helpful with making time in their day to meet with you, but others just don't show up or cancel. Its already hard enough being an athlete and maintaining a routine to keep your sanity, and now you cant even meet with your prof for help. The advising faculty in the computer science department is an absolute blessing. they are so helpful and so insightful and applaud students who recognize they aren't doing well in school and are looking for ways to improve. They are judge free and treat you like a human not just a student.Help with intern applications, and resume's

The food is okay but sometimes I wish they had healthier options. The food you buy with Thrifty cash is so expensive compared to the cafeteria prices but it is higher quality.

The campus is beautiful in the fall and spring time with the river shimmering from the passing cargo ships and boats. Plenty of outdoor activities like trails and what not.

The housing gets better after each year you're there. Junior and senior housing is so nice, but its also super expensive.
Mon, 15 Jun 2015 10:29:35 GMT http://www.studentsreview.com/NY/MRC_comments.html
StudentsReview: Advice Review about Marist for Fine Arts - Painting/Sculpture/Photography/etchttp://www.studentsreview.com/NY/MRC_comments.html To be all negative about Marist College would not benefit anyone. Marist is focused on Fashion and Liberal Art. They are a Private college which is all about money like most 99 percent colleges. Busin... Sat, 16 May 2015 09:26:13 GMT StudentsReview 964-161611 964-161611 964 18 Fine Arts - Painting/Sculpture/Photography/etc Female Undergraduate Class 2017 2nd Year Advice To be all negative about Marist College would not benefit anyone. Marist is focused on Fashion and Liberal Art. They are a Private college which is all about money like most 99 percent colleges. Business and Money before the Student best interest. Reason Poughkeepsie, NY survives is based on Marist, Vassar, Dutchess County Community College, Culinary Institute of America and possible SUNY New Paltz. Marist College is geared towards the wealthy. Many students find cliques and join clubs to have fun. Less than average college structure that your degree carries little weight but it is all up to you (the individual student) to make the most of your education and life. College Degrees are just a piece of paper. Show your true self and worth and work hard, then you'll do great in your personal and financial life. Good Luck! I do not recommend Marist College but I leave that decision to you.
Oh! Marist has a wonderful 1st year Study Abroad opportunity for select (limited 40 to 60) students called "Freshman Florence Experience" so if you get selected might be worth it then transfer to another college for Sophomore year, etc.
Sat, 16 May 2015 09:26:13 GMT http://www.studentsreview.com/NY/MRC_comments.html
StudentsReview: Neutral Review about Marist for Art & Design Departmenthttp://www.studentsreview.com/NY/MRC_comments.html Marist was my first choice and I applied early decision. Of course part of the appeal was the gorgeous campus, but what my main reason for going was the Art Department. I really liked how the programs... Wed, 25 Mar 2015 06:46:33 GMT StudentsReview 964-158739 964-158739 964 60 Art & Design Department Female Undergraduate Class 2016 3rd Year Neutral Marist was my first choice and I applied early decision. Of course part of the appeal was the gorgeous campus, but what my main reason for going was the Art Department. I really liked how the programs were structured and that there was a balance of different types of classes (Digital Media program specifically). And the faculty of the department are all really fantastic, and if you need help or advice with anything they are there for you. I am also minoring in Business, and for the most part have had good experiences with the faculty and classes. For classes in general, the work varies from either being quite easy to more demanding, depending on the class and professor. Definitely make sure you balance out time to study and manage your time wisely.
Social life is alright; no matter what you can find friends with similar interests. What I will say, though, for anyone who likes to go out that people are generally going to the bars in Poughkeepsie, so if you're looking to party but cannot get in, you may have some difficulty there. There are frat parties here and there and are fine, but Greek life isn't huge like it is at other schools and even they mostly go to the bars with everyone else. Overall the people are alright; you're gonna have some unpleasant or stuck up people wherever you go, but my experiences with other students have been mostly positive and as long as you have a solid group of friends the rest doesn't matter.
Poughkeepsie is absolutely massive, so luckily there are ways to get around when you cannot have a car (really just freshman year). Fridays and Saturdays there is a shuttle to the Galleria and Stop&Shop, and a semester pass is very cheap. There are also a ton of cabs (all of which flock to Marist at night and are at cheaper rates depending on where you're going). Poughkeepsie has seen better days, and parts of it should definitely be avoided. However, there are some places in and around it that are quite fun. And the restaurants nearby are quite good - especially if you want a break from dining hall food, which is not terrible but nothing special - and fairly priced. Another great thing about Poughkeepsie is that it is a train ride away from the city, so if you ever want to get out for the day it's not a hassle.
The one aspect that definitely needs improvement, though, is housing. It is guaranteed freshman and I think sophomore year, but for juniors and seniors nothing is guaranteed. Marist uses a priority points system, which determines in what order you get to select housing. Obviously the better you and possibly your group's points, the more desirable housing you'll get. Having bad points could even mean that you could not stay on campus, although a lot of the people I know who were in that situation reapplied for housing immediately and were placed into rooms. On the topic of off-campus housing, there plenty of houses and apartments that are rented to students (a cheaper option than on-campus housing, for the most part). There are plenty within walking distance, but are usually more expensive and not as nice as the ones further away (and can do so because of their location).
All in all, for the price of tuition you are paying, the education you would receive at Marist is a pretty good deal. I absolutely love it here and have had generally good experiences, so I would recommend this school to prospective students. As with any other school, do your research and see what is the best fit for you.
Wed, 25 Mar 2015 06:46:33 GMT http://www.studentsreview.com/NY/MRC_comments.html