StudentsReview - St Lawrence University - Life at SLUhttp://www.studentsreview.com/NY/SLU_comments.html Life at SLU - Comments en StudentsReview: Negative Review about SLU for Fine Arts - Painting/Sculpture/Photography/etchttp://www.studentsreview.com/NY/SLU_comments.html Starting at the top with the Administration and flowing down to Department Heads and Professors is a general lack of respect, concern, and genuine belief in students. Many reviews of SLU will referenc... Sun, 16 Mar 2014 10:09:24 GMT StudentsReview 988-103715 Copyright 2014 StudentsReview, Ecliptical Technologies, Inc. 988-103715 988 18 Fine Arts - Painting/Sculpture/Photography/etc Female Undergraduate Class 2010 4th Year Negative Starting at the top with the Administration and flowing down to Department Heads and Professors is a general lack of respect, concern, and genuine belief in students. Many reviews of SLU will reference the arrogance of the students but it is the Administration and faculty who set the vibe of indifference, trudging along with little willingness or ability to view things fresh. North Country mentality! It seems like many professors resent that the are "stuck" at SLU or have become numb to their responsibilities to help students. Or the community is just too small to rock the boat. Whatever the reasons for the indifference,a SLU education is too damn expensive for these factors to still be at play in higher education. Sun, 16 Mar 2014 10:09:24 GMT http://www.studentsreview.com/NY/SLU_comments.html StudentsReview: Negative Review about SLU for Biologyhttp://www.studentsreview.com/NY/SLU_comments.html The Professors are helpful, the food good, the campus is very nice. However, nothing can make up for the fact that this school is a complete drunkfest. The dorms are out of control, the students dri... Mon, 08 Oct 2012 09:31:43 GMT StudentsReview 988-89757 Copyright 2014 StudentsReview, Ecliptical Technologies, Inc. 988-89757 988 6 Biology Female Undergraduate Class 2016 1st Year Negative The Professors are helpful, the food good, the campus is very nice. However, nothing can make up for the fact that this school is a complete drunkfest. The dorms are out of control, the students drink and drug themselves unconscious (almost 50 kids a year are brought to the emergency room unconscious). The administration knows this but is afraid to confront the issue and lose enrollment dollars. They will tell you this without hesitation. It is a horrible place for anyone with self respect to have to live at for 4 years. If you go here, be careful, it can be very dangerous . There is no campus police, just security, and as much as possible is handled in-house without being reported. Mon, 08 Oct 2012 09:31:43 GMT http://www.studentsreview.com/NY/SLU_comments.html StudentsReview: Positive Review about SLU for History/Histories (art history/etc.)http://www.studentsreview.com/NY/SLU_comments.html Perhaps I have some of the best perspective on this school, having a somewhat unlucky and miserable experience, but also an academically rigorous and happy experience at the same time. SLU can be a... Wed, 08 Aug 2012 03:45:16 GMT StudentsReview 988-88762 Copyright 2014 StudentsReview, Ecliptical Technologies, Inc. 988-88762 988 41 History/Histories (art history/etc.) Female Undergraduate Class 2012 4th Year Positive Perhaps I have some of the best perspective on this school, having a somewhat unlucky and miserable experience, but also an academically rigorous and happy experience at the same time.

SLU can be a rollercoaster if you don't fit (or don't want to fit) the rich, preppy mold. It's not to say everyone is like this, but SLU is the kind of school where finding your niche is important. I was unlucky to have a bad FYP (First-Year Program, for those who don't know) as well as an awful roommate during my freshman year. Really, you don't always have to drink at SLU to have fun, but if you don't at all, you at least need to tolerate your friends drinking on the weekends. As a recently graduated senior, our Senior Week was great (compared to Clarkson too, I heard ours was better), and wouldn't have traded seeing Rubblebucket in concert at Springfest for anything (dancing drunk in the rain and mud doesn't sound fun, but let me assure you, it was)! With that said, it took me three years, a term abroad, and getting my core curriculum out of the way to be truly satisfied.

On the note of study abroad, SLU has excellent study abroad opportunities. The SLU-run programs gave me the impression you would be in a bubble... which can actually be good for certain countries where they have programs that could be culturally unfamiliar to students (Kenya, Thailand, Ethiopia to name a few). But, if group travel isn't your cup of tea, or you want to go your own way, individual exchanges are possible (that's what I did).

Academically, in the Art History department most all the profs are great, spare one which grades a little easier, so it might seem. I've heard some departmental criticism from other students (one friend thought *some* of the government department wasn't all that great, but I'm no expert there. I suppose that's just hearsay). What I do know for sure is psychology and economics tend to be popular majors. Fulfilling my core requirements was a bit of pain due to a lack of classes that I could enroll in, but the school does work to change that- and has. Most all professors have a good rapport with students, and at such a small school students will dog/baby sit for their professors, and some faculty have even had students over for dinner! So really, most professors are friendly and don't mind helping out students.

The price tag is high for slu, so keep that in mind. But overall, and in some ways most importantly, the alumni connections are great! You'll have a stellar network of fellow laurentians, if you know how to use it. Not to mention, that network stays with you even after you graduate. Most alumni are excited to meet other alumni, and it's always fun when you find out your dentist graduated from the same university you did (it also makes you feel like your dentist is pretty competent).
Wed, 08 Aug 2012 03:45:16 GMT http://www.studentsreview.com/NY/SLU_comments.html
StudentsReview: Positive Review about SLU for Mathhttp://www.studentsreview.com/NY/SLU_comments.html Background: I'm an athlete, middle class, I come from a small town, academics are very important to me, and I love being outside. I came to St. Lawrence mainly because of athletics and because they ga... Tue, 17 Jul 2012 07:07:41 GMT StudentsReview 988-88418 Copyright 2014 StudentsReview, Ecliptical Technologies, Inc. 988-88418 988 23 Math Female Undergraduate Class 2014 2nd Year Positive Background: I'm an athlete, middle class, I come from a small town, academics are very important to me, and I love being outside. I came to St. Lawrence mainly because of athletics and because they gave me a great scholarship, but I was surprised to find many great things about SLU.

First of all, the teachers are awesome! Every one that I have had really cares about the students and are always available to help. Each department is like its own little community which is nice because you get to know kids outside of your friend group because of your major. I also found that most students are not very competitive. It is always a collaborative effort.

I was very impressed by the athletics program. The facilities are beautiful and athletes are basically treated like royalty. Many students on campus are involved in sports and it is a great way to make friends. Students are very supportive of the teams here as well.

Canton is a very small town with not much to do, but I don't mind that at all. Sports keep me busy so I am never bored. The community is very involved with the college, and there are plenty of ways to get involved in the community such as helping local Canton students, cooking and serving meals to the needy, habitat for humanity, etc. There are too many organizations to count so if you get involved you will never be bored.

Security does not really crack down too hard on drinking. There are huge parties every weekend in the dorms and townhouses, and every Saturday night people go to this grimy dance club called the Tick Tock in hopes of going home with someone. But not everyone drinks either. The school puts on events like comedians and stuff.

As for the education, you get out what you put in. If you are reasonably smart, take easy classes, and don't work as hard as you should, you will get by just fine but you will be wasting your education. If you take challenging courses and engage yourself, you will have to bust your ass and you might have to pull some all-nighters, but you will definitely get a great well-rounded education. Emphasis on the well-rounded, because at a liberal arts college you are exposed to many different perspectives. Also, go abroad if you can!

Ahhh, now for the student body. There are a few different kinds of people. The type that stands out the most, probably because they all dress the same, are the rich preppy kids. They usually aren't smart enough to get scholarships so they have to pay full tuition, but they have enough money for that plus the latest designer brands. There seems to be more of them than there actually are because they all act and dress the same and they hang out together. Freshmen that get sucked into this group and adopt there ways are often known as "SLU babies." There are also a lot of "crunchy" outdoorsy people. They are cool, wear flannels, climb mountains, and smoke a lot of weed. Then there is everyone else...a mixture of pretty average, smart, pretty "normal" kids. There are not a whole lot of "weird people" like you may find at a Tech school. Most people are friendly, although some are stuck up and wrapped up in their coolness and money. Bu they can be avoided.

The weather is COLD in the winter, and in the spring and fall it can't make up its mind. The food is limited but very good with many healthy options. Milkshake Monday, Sundae Sunday, and Waffle Wednesday are always great!

Basically, anyone can find something they like at St. Lawrence. If you are a dedicated student that loves the outdoors and interacting with lots of different kinds of people, you will probably really enjoy SLU. I hope this is helpful!
Tue, 17 Jul 2012 07:07:41 GMT http://www.studentsreview.com/NY/SLU_comments.html
StudentsReview: Negative Review about SLU for Biologyhttp://www.studentsreview.com/NY/SLU_comments.html If I had the opportunity to attend another school I definitely would. The students and faculty are extremely stand offish to those who look different. It is an extremely preppy school and it's filled ... Mon, 16 Jul 2012 03:18:32 GMT StudentsReview 988-88392 Copyright 2014 StudentsReview, Ecliptical Technologies, Inc. 988-88392 988 6 Biology Female Undergraduate Class 2013 3rd Year Negative If I had the opportunity to attend another school I definitely would. The students and faculty are extremely stand offish to those who look different. It is an extremely preppy school and it's filled with ignorant, close minded people. the university should really have more information on diversity for the students since they clearly know nothing about it. SLU is not the place for me and seriously -- save yourself the trouble of attending. I know not everyone there is like that but the majority of the people are. the town of canton doesn't provide much besides the tick tock which students frequent every weekend. the parties have to end at 2 am and the food is terrible. the dorms are too small and they're not that attractive looking. Mon, 16 Jul 2012 03:18:32 GMT http://www.studentsreview.com/NY/SLU_comments.html