StudentsReview - The State University of New York Binghamton - Life at SUNYB Copyright 2017 StudentsReview, Ecliptical Technologies, Inc. http://www.studentsreview.com/NY/SUNYBI_comments.html Life at SUNYB - Comments en StudentsReview: Negative Review about SUNYB for Unknownhttp://www.studentsreview.com/NY/SUNYBI_comments.html I thought SUNY Binghamton was a horrible school. I would definitely not send my kids there. Too many kids are Jewish kids from Long Island. The weather is horrible. There's no football team or sch... Tue, 15 Aug 2017 01:29:53 GMT StudentsReview 998-180780 998-180780 998 0 Unknown Male Undergraduate Class 1921 4th Year Negative I thought SUNY Binghamton was a horrible school. I would definitely not send my kids there. Too many kids are Jewish kids from Long Island. The weather is horrible. There's no football team or school spirit. The Greek Life is lame.

This is a decent school if you want to study accounting, finance, or pre-med. If you have to go SUNY, go to Albany. Much better city with DIV I sports programs.
Tue, 15 Aug 2017 01:29:53 GMT http://www.studentsreview.com/NY/SUNYBI_comments.html
StudentsReview: Advice Review about SUNYB for PreMed and Medicalhttp://www.studentsreview.com/NY/SUNYBI_comments.html Don't come here unless: Jewish From Long Island/NYC/Westchester Want to do Greek Life Politically liberal Into drugs Into drinking... Sat, 27 May 2017 08:57:18 GMT StudentsReview 998-180014 998-180014 998 36 PreMed and Medical Male Undergraduate Class 2019 2nd Year Advice Don't come here unless:
Jewish
From Long Island/NYC/Westchester
Want to do Greek Life
Politically liberal
Into drugs
Into drinking
Sat, 27 May 2017 08:57:18 GMT http://www.studentsreview.com/NY/SUNYBI_comments.html
StudentsReview: Advice Review about SUNYB for Undecidedhttp://www.studentsreview.com/NY/SUNYBI_comments.html DO NOT COME TO THIS SCHOOL. If I could do it again I would go to a private school.. this school is so depressing, everyone who is here is only here because they could not/did not want to pay for a rea... Sat, 09 May 2015 04:19:02 GMT StudentsReview 998-161302 998-161302 998 52 Undecided Male Undergraduate Class 2000 Advice DO NOT COME TO THIS SCHOOL. If I could do it again I would go to a private school.. this school is so depressing, everyone who is here is only here because they could not/did not want to pay for a real college. Go to an actual good school and get a real education.. this way you can actually get a job after college... wow this school sucks.. WARNING: DO NOT COME Sat, 09 May 2015 04:19:02 GMT http://www.studentsreview.com/NY/SUNYBI_comments.html StudentsReview: Negative Review about SUNYB for Engineering Departmenthttp://www.studentsreview.com/NY/SUNYBI_comments.html Let me start by saying I cant pronounce 3 out of 4 of my instructors names, due to the fact that they need to be written in a different language. Grading and testing at this school represents little t... Thu, 16 Oct 2014 08:33:50 GMT StudentsReview 998-144647 998-144647 998 61 Engineering Department Male Undergraduate Class 2017 1st Year Negative Let me start by saying I cant pronounce 3 out of 4 of my instructors names, due to the fact that they need to be written in a different language. Grading and testing at this school represents little to none of what is taught in class and can vary greatly from what is covered in lecture to what is tested. I dont have a problem with the location of the school, or the safety of the campus, although the food quality on campus is fairly low. I do, on the other hand feel as if I am being completely ripped off in the education side of school, which is what going to college is for... right?? The instructors are unhelpful, the homework is either busywork, or unhelpful its just terrible. Absolutely DO NOT go here if you feel like you want to learn anything. Thu, 16 Oct 2014 08:33:50 GMT http://www.studentsreview.com/NY/SUNYBI_comments.html StudentsReview: Positive Review about SUNYB for Engineering Departmenthttp://www.studentsreview.com/NY/SUNYBI_comments.html Binghamton is not a top school for engineering, but it is well connected in the aerospace/defense, chip manufacturing, and finance fields, with strong employers regularly at the career fairs. Bec... Mon, 29 Sep 2014 09:15:07 GMT StudentsReview 998-138284 998-138284 998 61 Engineering Department Male Undergraduate Alumnus Class 2000 Positive Binghamton is not a top school for engineering, but it is well connected in the aerospace/defense, chip manufacturing, and finance fields, with strong employers regularly at the career fairs.

Because there are many students who got into Ivy's but chose Binghamton because it is incredibly inexpensive, the top 10% of students at Binghamton could easily match Harvard, Yale, Columbia, etc. students in intelligence and ambition. More importantly, Binghamton is a place that shows how average students can be exceptionally successful in real life.

On the other hand, there are some very unintelligent kids at Binghamton, and I would argue that the bottom 20% of students force professors to reduce the rigor of many courses to prevent failing too many students.

There is not a strong sense of intellectualism at Binghamton, but if you make a point of befriending those brilliant students at the top of your classes, you will find that all of the smart people find each other, and you will push yourself to be more like them.

Binghamton is average or better than average in terms of the social life students have. There's a strong Greek presence as well as easy access to bars, breweries, and restaurants. Off-campus housing is dirt cheap, which means there are always great (free) house parties rivaling the fraternities and sports teams.

Speaking of sports teams, Binghamton has some great teams, but not in sports you're likely to care about. This is not a school for football or basketball fans, unfortunately. There is actually plenty of spirit at the basketball games, but it is a lot like being a Chicago Cubs fan: you're always excited but your team generally loses. One bright spot, however, is the local minor league hockey team which regularly plays at the downtown arena -- it's a lot of fun because the locals are really into it!

It's worth mentioning that there's a lot of nature around Binghamton, including a nature preserve on campus, and the outdoors club is incredibly popular and active as a result. if you like outdoors stuff, this is a great school for you.

On the whole I think Binghamton is a great school that is fun to be at while providing career opportunities which are comparable to schools that are five times more expensive (e.g. Northeastern, BU, Drexel, etc). Overall, Binghamton's greatest weakness is its distance from a major city, because urban schools tend to have closer relationships to both startups and large corporations. Binghamton does a poor job of proactively helping students get real-world experience via co-ops and internships. Recent administrative shake-ups could change this though, so keep an eye on Binghamton's career services activities.
Mon, 29 Sep 2014 09:15:07 GMT http://www.studentsreview.com/NY/SUNYBI_comments.html