StudentsReview :: San Francisco State University - Graduate (MS/PhD) Ratings
  
-or-
Search for Schools by Region
 

or within distance of city

Similar Schools
University of California -- Los Angeles, CA
California Polytechnic State University-San Luis Obispo -- San Luis Obispo, CA
San Diego State University -- San Diego, CA


  Who's got the Best?

Perceptual Rankings:
You Make 'Em.
We Post 'Em.
You Vote 'Em Up.
You Vote 'Em Down.
Aww yeah.


San Francisco State University

Total Grad Surveys 23
Females 15
Males 8
Avg years at University 2.2
Research Quality A- (8.2)
Research Availability A- (8.4)
Research Funding B+ (7.5)
Graduate Politics B+ (7.9)
Errand Runners B+ (7.7)
Degree Completion A- (8.6)
Alternative pay [ta/gsi] B (7.2)
Sufficient Pay B (7.1)
Competitiveness A (9.0)
Education Quality A- (8.5)
Faculty Accessibility A (9.4)
Useful Research A (9.1)
"Individual" treatment B+ (7.5)
Friendliness B+ (7.9)
Safety B+ (7.7)
Campus Beauty B+ (7.5)
Campus Maintenance B+ (7.4)
University Resource/spending B (7.1)
Extracurriculars B+ (7.8)
Success-Understanding B+ (8.1)
Surrounding City A (9.3)
Social Life/Environment A- (8.5)
University Resource/spendingB
Faculty AccessibilityA

SFSU offers an MA in Classics - a

Nov 09 2013Unknown
SFSU offers an MA in Classics - a graduate degree but; 1. requires no letters of recommendation or GRE scores for admission. And, quite frankly, when I was there, I wondered if any of their favorites actually had BAs to their names. 2. offers a quite political environment where some of the more gifted students are shunted aside for some of the more 'aesthetically gifted' students. In other words, the greater your physical potential or the financial potential of your family, the greater your chances of success in this ridiculous department. And, 3. the curriculum is deficient. They offer no surveys, which are a staple for 'serious' Classics' graduate departments. I'm guessing that the reason why they don't offer Surveys is that they don't possess the academic talent in their faculty.

Access to the Romberg Tiburon Center for Environmental

May 30 2013Biology
Access to the Romberg Tiburon Center for Environmental Science is a hidden gem. Faculty there work as a group and include graduate students as a big part of the community. Even though there are only Master's degrees being awarded, the research is top notch with many collaborations throughout the bay area.

The campus is very small

Sep 29 2011Business - Management and Administration
The campus is very small. but some people like that. It is pretty as most campuses are nice. The prof seem to be at least approachable, but i lived in the dorms and there is absolutely NO SUPPORT there. My roommate moved out (luckily) and no one would even let me talk to the housing administration to find out about who they were going to be placing in my room. You can't even call they have some stupid young kid working the desk and won't transfer you or take a message. Also, the dorm life is truly lacking in activities. My other school which i transferred from (BIG REGRET) had many activities and functions for the residents. idk why they don't. If you are looking for the "living on campus experience" DO NOT GO TO SFSU, you will regret it. Go somewhere else that has activities and the staff is available to you.

This university is so

Jul 11 2010Education
This university is so lost, if they found a path out of a dark forest, they would leave the path and head deeper into the forest.Stay away from the college of education at ALL costs.

I have buto in Business

Aug 27 2007Business - Management and Administration
I have buto in Business. My MBA consists of Massive Buto Assocatiate. Great Buto School, really enjoyed it. The femalesenjoyed the buto as well. Go MBA
Research Topic(s): Business is also for Suckerz
Jun 24 2005Architecture

Fantastic School with really hot people on campus

Jun 24 2005Computer Science

Hi
Alicia from West Indies here...
SFSU is a good school..You should look forward to study here at this place

An average school is

Jun 21 2005Computer Science
An average school is what SFSU is thugh the Computer Science Department is very good.. With the advent of 2 new programs in CS such as Computing of Life Sciences and Software Engineering, Students have more couses to choose from.
Jun 21 2005Interior Design

Great School... Course in Interior Designing is really upto the mark..

Jun 20 2005Architecture

SFSU is one of the greatest schools in California...

One of the greatest

Jun 20 2005Business - Management and Administration
One of the greatest programs offered at SFSU is the Accelerated MBA one.. Do not go for plain MBA.. u will be forever completing it only.. Accelerated MBA is much better...

The Computer Engineering Department

Jun 20 2005Computer Engineering
The Computer Engineering Department is really nice here.. I completed my Undergraduate here and got a GPA of 3.8 and now im doing my Masters in computer science.. Department is very nice n helpful..

Hi Everyone

Jun 20 2005Computer Science
Hi Everyonethis is Michael here from SFSU.. Although the campus needs to be slightly better than what it is.. SFSU is a great school.. CS Department is truly fantastic with the faculty very helpful and understanding.. I would suggest SFSU with the CS department for any college graduate looking to do his MS in Computer Science... All in all SFSU is a safe bet!!
Jun 18 2005Computer Science

Nice University with SF as an excellent back ground... Definitely a place to come and the CS department is very good in itself..

Jun 18 2005Computer Science

A good schoool.. Department is helpful and nice..

Im an international student from India and have

Jun 18 2005Computer Science
Im an international student from India and have been here for over 2 years now.. All i can say about SFSU is tht its a great school.. Not in the terms of Stanford or something like tht.. But all in all its a fantastic place to study and learn abt the American Culture.. Job prospects in US itself are scarce and Im looking forward to go back home and get a job there. With the Phd degree from SFSU its going to be a cake walk to get an excellent job in India.. All in all I would give SFSU a 8.5 outof 10..

An excellent department with really helpful faculty

Jun 18 2005Computer Science
An excellent department with really helpful faculty.. Courses taught are perfect matching with the current job requirement of the IT Industry.. Internships and Co-op programs are very helpful in gettin work experience first hand. Im an international student from Nepal and i plan to return to my home country on completeing the course as job oppurtunites are really great for me there once i complete my Masters degree here.. Thumbs up for San Francisco State University and the Computer Science Department from me..!!

The AMBA program is pretty well organized and

Sep 28 2004Business - Management and Administration
The AMBA program is pretty well organized and there is a clear pathway to get the Master's degree. The Typical array of professors teach in the program...some outstanding and some that offer individuals nothing they don't know or cannot learn ontheir own. The caliber of student in the AMBA program is fairly high. The same is not true with the traditional on campus MBA program. There are a number of foreign students and students of lower caliber that are bringing the entire on traditional program down. The traditional on-campus program is so impacted that it could easily take 3-4 years to graduate. The school itself is highly bureaucratic and individuals are treated like a number in the traditional program. The school is suffering from massive budgetary short-comings and the schools infrastructure and staff display the current state of the campus. Parking is a nightmare getting to the main campus and the public transit system - if coming from outside the city - is equally annoying. If you plan to get an MBA from SFSU, get into the accelerated program. Otherwise, you will be sorry! If you don't get into the accelerated MBA program then I suggest going elsewhere.

SF State U to

Apr 11 2004Business - Management and Administration
SF State U to my surprise especially the Accelerated MBA program was really very good. The quality of education, the faculty, were much more then expected.
Want to Learn More?
Powered by CampusExplorer.com
 

Similar Schools

University of California -- Los Angeles, CA

California Polytechnic State University-San Luis Obispo -- San Luis Obispo, CA

San Diego State University -- San Diego, CA

About Us | Advertise! | Press
Send Comments/Suggestions to: sradmin@studentsreview.com.

Copyright © 2000-2014. StudentsReview, All Rights Reserved.
 

 

Disclaimer: StudentsReview makes no claims, promises, or guarantees about the accuracy, completeness, or adequacy of the contents of this site, and expressly disclaims liability for errors and omissions in the contents of this site. Furthermore, StudentsReview is not affiliated with any University or Institution.

All Universities in CA, College Search, College Rankings